MMM
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 167

Thread: Welcome the return of VX from OCZ...VX2

  1. #1
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885

    Welcome the return of VX from OCZ...VX2

    Guys

    Time are changing, soon we will all be using DR2 ram or even DDR3 so OCZ decided to move on and bring you a new VX product with a warranty that covers you to 2.3V or so.

    Now i can't post a pic of the dimms till Monday next as we are launching at Computex but i can talk about it a little here.VX2 will become a new line of product we hope, offering value with outstanding performance, at this time I can not quote IC's or prices

    We waited to test the Nvidia and ATI reference boards for AM2 before making a decission about the memory, i have hit the same top 2t speeds with both boards with 1T 800 a little easier on the Foxconn reference.

    Timings will be rated at 4-4-4-15 DDR2 1000, I have hit 4-4-3-10 2.3V on the ATI with ease, this with TWR at 3, TRC at 12 etc so its pretty damn tight.
    I ran some brief tests off with a 4000+ dual core watercooled at 300x10, ram is clocked at DDR1000.Buffered top unbuffered below.



    Now this is at 3GHZ, if i get the FX62 stable at 3.3(300x11) im sure I will see close to 12k buffered. Ran some dual pi also, initially at 4-4-4-10.



    Then rebooted,set TRP to 3,shut down some services in XP, set priority to realtime and let her rip again and gained a little more speed.



    finished off with a couple of 3d benches.



    Now, remember these are 4-4-4-rated not 4-4-3, im sure many of you will see 4-4-3 or some may do even better. i decided to test with the 4000+ as this is really what most will run as it offers good overclocking and is not an expensive CPU to buy. The motherboard has been picked up by Sapphire i hear and has just been reviewed on ANANDTECH.COM, there are some minor bios issues still but it is a good fast board and as you see here even running dual 1800's in Xfire is pretty damn fast.

    I will post picks Monday of the dimms, they have a new heatspreader you have not seen before and look pretty damn slick. Questions on IC's will go unanswered at this time, some of you will have an opinion about what they are, you will have to wait till I confirm to be sure.

    I have Badaxe here now and will test these with conroe over the next few days, stay tuned for more.
    Last edited by Tony; 06-02-2006 at 06:37 AM.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  2. #2
    Egyptian OverClocker
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Cairo, Egypt
    Posts
    3,366
    i will be waiting for monday to come for sure

    DDR2 1000 with 4-4-4- is for sure very very nice

    but what about heat, do they need a 80mm fan on them also like the CX for DDR ?
    Soon to be :
    ASUS P8P67 Deluxe, Intel SB i7-2600k, G.Skill Rj-X F3-12800CL6D-4GBXH, MSI HD6950 2GB, Corsair 750AX, Intel 80GB G2 SSD, DELL U2410

    Used to be: SaFrOuT

  3. #3
    Aussie God
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    4,678
    Nice Tony, but, why not all tha way?? - 2.55 // 2.65 ??
    Competition ranking;
    2005; Netbyte, Karise/Denmark #1 @ PiFast
    2008; AOCM II, Minfeld/Germany #2 @ 01SE/AM3/8M (w. Oliver)
    2009; AMD-OC, Viborg/Denmark #2 @ max freq Gigabyte TweaKING, Paris/France #4 @ 32M/01SE (w. Vanovich)
    2010: Gigabyte P55, Hamburg/Germany #6 @ wprime 1024/SPI 1M (w. THC) AOCM III, Minfeld/Germany #6 @ 01SE/AM3/1M/8M (w. NeoForce)

    Spectating;
    2010; GOOC 2010 Many thanks to Gigabyte!


  4. #4
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by M.Beier
    Nice Tony, but, why not all tha way?? - 2.55 // 2.65 ??
    Vdimm on the ATI goes well over 2.6V but im unsure whether the VTT is tracking correctly,i know its fine at 2.3V and this is where the warranty stops so its best that i showed performance at this speed.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  5. #5
    Xtreme Legend
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,031
    Any tests on an Intel plattform?

    "In mild doses, ethylene produces states of euphoria, associated with stimulus
    to the pleasure centres of the human brain."

    Intel benching: 3DMark Vantage: E69642, P37253, H30363, X22138
    Swedish Overclocking Champion 2006 - Celeron Mobile 1400 @ 4243MHz - 203%

  6. #6
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by SaFrOuT
    i will be waiting for monday to come for sure

    DDR2 1000 with 4-4-4- is for sure very very nice

    but what about heat, do they need a 80mm fan on them also like the CX for DDR ?
    I run a fan as standard now, they do run real cool though but a fan is always a wise move.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  7. #7
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by crotale
    Any tests on an Intel plattform?
    I just quoted I have badaxe here now and will be testing....i already know they do well on intel already though

    AM2 is real hard on memory, it it does 1000+ on AM2 be sure it will do better on an Intel rig
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  8. #8
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    475
    Tony, what chips do they use? Kidding!

    Out of curiosity, why is it that most DDR2 modules come with such a high tRAS? I have never had a problem using far less than what's stock, so I was just wondering why. Especially if those modules have the chips I am thinking of.

    Either way, great stuff. I cannot wait until Monday.
    Intel C2E QX6850 @ 3.33GHz, ASUS P5K Premium, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ ModXStream 720W, Thermalright Ultra-120
    Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Samsung 20x DVD-RW, ASUS Xonar D2X, Antec P182, Ultrasone PRO 750, Dell 2408WFP, Gentoo 2008.0

    "Life without knowledge is death in disguise." - H.P. Baxxter

    Techgage.com Editor in Chief | Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam

  9. #9
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,851
    So we can expect 1T 4-4-4-10 500mhz on intel?
    Intel FTW!

    Beanna

  10. #10
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by NiCKE^
    So we can expect 1T 4-4-4-10 500mhz on intel?
    I have a feeling tighter on Intel.....

    Edit, 1T on Intel???? when their memory controller supports it maybe..LOL
    Last edited by Tony; 06-02-2006 at 05:18 AM.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  11. #11
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by Deathspawner
    Tony, what chips do they use? Kidding!

    Out of curiosity, why is it that most DDR2 modules come with such a high tRAS? I have never had a problem using far less than what's stock, so I was just wondering why. Especially if those modules have the chips I am thinking of.

    Either way, great stuff. I cannot wait until Monday.
    The issue is the AM2 boards need a lose TRAS to boot up, no idea why but the fact is 15 seems to be the magic number, so that is what we set.

    I have actually run 4-4-3-5 at 1000 on this ATI board, the issue is no gains were seen over 10 so i left it there.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  12. #12
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    475
    Cool, thanks man. Yeah, tRAS performance differences are usually non-existant, but I was just curious.
    Intel C2E QX6850 @ 3.33GHz, ASUS P5K Premium, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ ModXStream 720W, Thermalright Ultra-120
    Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Samsung 20x DVD-RW, ASUS Xonar D2X, Antec P182, Ultrasone PRO 750, Dell 2408WFP, Gentoo 2008.0

    "Life without knowledge is death in disguise." - H.P. Baxxter

    Techgage.com Editor in Chief | Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam

  13. #13
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    241
    Can they do 3,2,2 above 350?

  14. #14
    Love and Peace!
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    hiding somewhere!
    Posts
    3,734
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony
    I have a feeling tighter on Intel.....

    Edit, 1T on Intel???? when their memory controller supports it maybe..LOL
    nvidia chipset

    i'm looking forward to seeing what this stuff can do
    Got a fan over those memory sticks? No? Well get to it before you kill them

  15. #15
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    Quote Originally Posted by georgesod
    Can they do 3,2,2 above 350?
    I haven't tested Intel yet....please read all my post where I explain where I am up to.

    AM2 at this time is 3-3-3 minimum as quoted in every review i have read.
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  16. #16
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Chile
    Posts
    4,230
    great the battle comes again

    redline vs VX

    i like it great sticks

  17. #17
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Holland
    Posts
    489
    I'm not impressed by this fast try-out, keeping in mind that D9 Fatbody can do 4-3-2-8 at this speeds easily. But i'm interrested what this memory does on a intel platform and when it's full unleashed

    My Rig:
    Intel Core 2 Duo E6400
    2x512mb Micron PC3200 OEM D9DQW "Fatbody"
    Biostar TForce P965 Deluxe
    MSI/Medion GeForce 6700XL (Cheap )
    Chieftec 360W (in search for someting better)
    WD 160GB S-ATA

  18. #18
    SSD faster than your HDD
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kalamazoo, MI
    Posts
    2,716
    Quote Originally Posted by DaWaN
    I'm not impressed by this fast try-out, keeping in mind that D9 Fatbody can do 4-3-2-8 at this speeds easily. But i'm interrested what this memory does on a intel platform and when it's full unleashed
    Very True.....but Fatbody D9 is no longer in production that I know of

  19. #19
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by RyderOCZ
    Very True.....but Fatbody D9 is no longer in production that I know of
    Why not? It seems like the discontinuation of the fatties was an irrational move my Micron unless it had something to do with manufacturing restrictions...?

    Real nice sticks here, OCZ! Aren't the Corsair 6400C3's doing 1000 @ 4-3-3? I think that would be most impressive if OCZ can match that.
    Intel C2D E6600 (L630B015)
    TT BigTyphoon || Zalman VF900 Fatal1ty
    Abit QuadGT
    2GB Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
    HIS X1900XT --> XTX
    Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
    OCZ GameXStream 700w



    Feedback:
    HEAT --- eBAY

  20. #20
    Xtreme X.I.P.
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    4,613
    Kinda looks like upcoming Mushkin XP6400. Nice sticks.
    I wonder do both use same ICs ?

  21. #21
    Xtreme Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    885
    Quote Originally Posted by Cooper
    Kinda looks like upcoming Mushkin XP6400. Nice sticks.
    I wonder do both use same ICs ?
    Does Mushkin have another XP2-6400 kit coming out? THe ones they have now use Micron D9 revD IIRC...
    Intel C2D E6600 (L630B015)
    TT BigTyphoon || Zalman VF900 Fatal1ty
    Abit QuadGT
    2GB Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
    HIS X1900XT --> XTX
    Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
    OCZ GameXStream 700w



    Feedback:
    HEAT --- eBAY

  22. #22
    Xtreme Addict
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Brooklyn, New York
    Posts
    2,251
    Quote Originally Posted by 5-Clicks
    Why not? It seems like the discontinuation of the fatties was an irrational move my Micron unless it had something to do with manufacturing restrictions...?

    Real nice sticks here, OCZ! Aren't the Corsair 6400C3's doing 1000 @ 4-3-3? I think that would be most impressive if OCZ can match that.
    I dunno why Micron IC don't last very long. It's sad, because some of them are phenominal.
    Heatware: 50-0-0
    Quote Originally Posted by Charile
    I believe that GWB, who may NOT be the best overclocking CPU in the tray...
    Quote Originally Posted by -thc-(cZ) View Post
    oh c'mon, maxxx, kick that cat of that monitor and have it poop for you

  23. #23
    the jedi master
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Manchester uk/Sunnyvale CA
    Posts
    3,885
    fattie D9 is no longer made, so we have to look fo the next best thing.

    Im on Badaxe now with a conroe, max vdimm is 2.2v so i will see what i can do at low latency
    Got a problem with your OCZ product....?
    Have a look over here
    Tony AKA BigToe


    Tuning PC's for speed...Run whats fast, not what you think is fast

  24. #24
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    greece
    Posts
    241
    Quote Originally Posted by Tony
    I haven't tested Intel yet....please read all my post where I explain where I am up to.

    AM2 at this time is 3-3-3 minimum as quoted in every review i have read.
    Ok m8 i thouht Am2 was good for 3,2,2. Waiting for your results

  25. #25
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    254
    hmm.....not too impressed with 4-4-4-15. Especially when g.skill has a kit that does 4-4-4-5.

    Was kinda hoping to see you match that or beat it.
    C2Q Rig.... C2Q Q6600 @ 3.6ghz | Abit IP35 Pro | 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 PC6400 | eVGA 8800gts 320 x 2 | Silverstone TJ-09
    i7 Rig.... i7 920 @ --ghz | eVGA x58 | 3 x 1gb G.Skill DDR3 1600 | eVGA -------- | Caseless
    FAH Quad / GPU Farm....To be continued....
    My Folding Stats...

Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •