MMM
    X

    Subscribe to New Ads!

    Receive weekly ads in your inbox!



Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Stripe/Cluster Size

  1. #1
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    340

    Stripe/Cluster Size

    I have searched these forums, but I can't find an answer for my setup.

    I just want to know the best Stripe/Cluster Size, mostly for gaming, a little bit of photoshop, general internet, lots of music and movies (I think I might shift these to my storage drive though). But in the end, mostly for gaming.

    But i've also heard that RAID0 is useless for real world desktop performance, especially gaming. But so many people here have Stripe arrays, so i'm confused. What's the deal?

  2. #2
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Westlake Village, West Hills
    Posts
    3,062
    I have a RAID 0 array for fast intall times and fast file transfer.
    PC Lab Qmicra V2 Case SFFi7 950 4.4GHz 200 x 22 1.36 volts
    Cooled by Swiftech GTZ - CPX-Pro - MCR420+MCR320+MCR220 | Completely Silent loads at 62c
    GTX 470 EVGA SuperClocked Plain stock
    12 Gigs OCZ Reaper DDR3 1600MHz) 8-8-8-24
    ASUS Rampage Gene II |Four OCZ Vertex 2 in RAID-0(60Gig x 4) | WD 2000Gig Storage


    Theater ::: Panasonic G20 50" Plasma | Onkyo SC5508 Processor | Emotiva XPA-5 and XPA-2 | CSi A6 Center| 2 x Polk RTi A9 Front Towers| 2 x Klipsch RW-12d
    Lian-LI HTPC | Panasonic Blu Ray 655k| APC AV J10BLK Conditioner |

  3. #3
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    147
    Best way to go is a separate drive/array for storage and another for OS. Having a raid array for your OS introduces more rotational latancy since there are two drives. For things like BF2 this is no problem since load times are generally dealing with large files over an extended period of time. For small loads or dealing with very small files, a raid 0 will overall be slower. I'd recommend a high rpm single drive for OS and raid 0 for storage if you move/copy/edit large files. 16K stripe seems to be the sweet spot for most people.
    Heat
    Quote Originally Posted by creidiki
    Dont mind R.S kids, he's just bitter because Dell dont make their PCs in pink.

  4. #4
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    147
    Forgot to mention, check out this thread about stripe sizes.
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=98643
    Heat
    Quote Originally Posted by creidiki
    Dont mind R.S kids, he's just bitter because Dell dont make their PCs in pink.

  5. #5
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Boston, MA, USA
    Posts
    3,001
    Stripe size results here:
    http://forum.useless-microoptimizati...orum/raid.html

    I have the raw data file if you want it. It's hard to say whether the optimal size the the same on other raid system but chances are they are similar.

  6. #6
    Xtreme Mentor
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Westlake Village, West Hills
    Posts
    3,062
    Er, I didn't say stripe size. I'm using 128K. I'm going to switch 32k or 16k next format. I have to decide which stripe size is faster. :-\
    PC Lab Qmicra V2 Case SFFi7 950 4.4GHz 200 x 22 1.36 volts
    Cooled by Swiftech GTZ - CPX-Pro - MCR420+MCR320+MCR220 | Completely Silent loads at 62c
    GTX 470 EVGA SuperClocked Plain stock
    12 Gigs OCZ Reaper DDR3 1600MHz) 8-8-8-24
    ASUS Rampage Gene II |Four OCZ Vertex 2 in RAID-0(60Gig x 4) | WD 2000Gig Storage


    Theater ::: Panasonic G20 50" Plasma | Onkyo SC5508 Processor | Emotiva XPA-5 and XPA-2 | CSi A6 Center| 2 x Polk RTi A9 Front Towers| 2 x Klipsch RW-12d
    Lian-LI HTPC | Panasonic Blu Ray 655k| APC AV J10BLK Conditioner |

  7. #7
    Xtreme Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    164
    There is a ton of information here:

    http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/show...ighlight=raid0

    if your are doing lots of large files, large strip. Small files, small strip. It also has a lot to do with your disk drives formated sector size - windows default is 4k. For two drive raid, they where finding that a ratio of 1:4 (cluster size to strip size) was optimal (i.e. 16k)
    AMD Athlon FX-55
    DIY 1.25 gal external dual core W/C system
    LanParty UT nF4 Ultra-D Bios 329
    1G OCZ DDR PC-4800 Platinum Elite
    eVGA 7800 GT 256MB
    Antec P160 case
    OCZ PowerStream 600W
    2 Western digital Raptor 74Gig SATA RAID0
    My Heatware

  8. #8
    Xtreme Cruncher
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    340
    64K on nvraid seems to be working fine for normal use, even speeds up oblivion load times very slightly (and yes I do notice it). Defrag is very fast too.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •