PDA

View Full Version : Water Cooling Rig

gobbo
02-17-2003, 11:36 AM
Hi, i'm new to water cooling so would like your advice on the following. I've picked all the bits out, and i was wondering if this would delivery enough cooling or if i'd be best with another rad.

Ehiem 1048 pump
OCPC Atlantis 3 waterblock
DangerDen Z3 NB block
120mm Black Ice Pro Rad
DangerDen res

This system will be based on 1/2" tubing and it'll be gonig to a 8RDA+ nb at about 1.85vdd and also through a 1700+ JIUHB 0302 @ ???? @ ???v It all depends how high it'll go ;)

So, will the single black ice pro be ok, or could i do with adding another rad as its going through NB too?? Also what would be the best way to connect it all up?

I'm thiknig connection wias to go:
Res-->Pump-->Rad-->CPU-->NB-->Res

Any advice suggests etc would be greatly appreciated!

KnightElite
02-17-2003, 07:13 PM
I would recommend getting a Heatercore, something about the same size as the one that DTek sells. You can get a Chevette Heatercore relatively cheap at most autoparts places, and it will outperform the BIP by a pretty fair margin just because it is bigger. If space is a major concern, then use the Black Ice Xtreme, rather than the Black Ice Pro, since it has twice the surface area because it is twice as thick.

I've never actually heard of the Atlantis block, so I can't give any recommendation on that, other than to say that I am extremely satisfied with my Swiftech stuff. I'd probably connect my setup in more or less the same order you are, so that's cool.

Have fun with watercooling, and don't get your hardware overly wet ;).

Marci
02-19-2003, 07:27 AM
Gobbo... got the ThermoChill units in... they should match performance of the Extreme...