PDA

View Full Version : 05/2006 F2-8000PHU2-2GBHZ F2-800PHU1-1GBHZ announced



GSKILL TECH
05-05-2006, 10:01 AM
G.Skill introduces the new DDR2-1000 2GB matched pair and 1GB single module as DDR2-HZ series that are compatible with Intel platform.

After launching the well known HZ series in DDR2-667 1GB module, G.Skill continuously works hard to announce the DDR2 HZ series for both great capacity and extreme performance.

G.Skill HZ series bring you the faster speed in DDR2.



Specification :

* Package : 2048MB kit (2x1024MB)
* CAS Latency : 4-4-4-5 (PC8000)
* Test Voltage : 2.2~2.3 V
* PCB Board : 6 Layers PCB
* Speed : DDR II 1000 MHZ (PC8000)
* Type : 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM
* Error Checking : Non-ECC
* Registered/Unbuffered : Unbuffered
* Quality Control :Comprehensive rigorously tested in pair at dual channel environment
* Warranty : Lifetime

ludeboy12
05-26-2006, 04:13 PM
any reviews anywhere on these??

im seriously considering buying them to go w/ the conroe im gonna get but id like to know how good they really are first.

G.S EUTech
06-14-2006, 02:43 AM
any reviews anywhere on these??

im seriously considering buying them to go w/ the conroe im gonna get but id like to know how good they really are first.

You can check these reviews out:

http://xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=98612

http://www.xtreme-mc.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=24&Itemid=31

Dani
07-27-2006, 04:49 AM
Is this G.SKILL PC2-8000 F2-8000PHU2-1GBHZ Dual channel 1024MB kit 1x1024mb or 2x512mb:confused:

http://www.oc-wear.de/pd-247705356.htm?categoryId=23

Mr. Popo
07-27-2006, 06:08 AM
Is this G.SKILL PC2-8000 F2-8000PHU2-1GBHZ Dual channel 1024MB kit 1x1024mb or 2x512mb:confused:

http://www.oc-wear.de/pd-247705356.htm?categoryId=23
512MB x 2

Dani
07-27-2006, 06:42 AM
Thanks Mr. Popo :)

RottenMutt
10-25-2006, 05:50 PM
G.Skill introduces the new DDR2-1000 2GB matched pair and 1GB single module as DDR2-HZ series that are compatible with Intel platform.

Specification :

* Package : 2048MB kit (2x1024MB)
* CAS Latency : 4-4-4-5 (PC8000)
* Test Voltage : 2.2~2.3 V
* PCB Board : 6 Layers PCB
* Speed : DDR II 1000 MHZ (PC8000)
* Type : 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM
* Error Checking : Non-ECC
* Registered/Unbuffered : Unbuffered

Hi,
What is the "Refresh Cycle Time (tRFC)" time??? I have an abit aw9d-max board and the new beta bios has this in it. The mobo/bios will not detect the correct timings from the GSkill spd chip and i suspect it won't get the correct tRFC time either. But it detects the correct timings with other dimm modules, maybe the spd is wrong. The fastest i have been able to run the memory is 450mhz on this board. I guess i need to give it more voltage, "Scotty I need more power".

eric

GSKILL TECH
10-27-2006, 02:59 PM
trfc should be 42 i believe, it is not on top of my head now

RottenMutt
12-12-2006, 07:51 AM
the fastest i can get my memory to run is 450MHz using the timings you suggest, or even setting trfc to the highest possible in the bios (~64). I have only been using the recommended timings since i'm still under the rated speed. i've bumped the memory voltage but still no luck.

system is an abit aw9d-max and a 6700 processor. i can get the processor up to 3.9 GHz and 450MHz memory, when i drop the cpu multiplier down and attempt greater then 460 i lockup in post.

mele
12-20-2006, 05:17 AM
I have my set running 2:3 @ 550 4-4-4-4-4-4-42-2-13-10-3-8-5 2.4v

GREAT mem so far!

Xion X2
01-01-2007, 08:02 PM
I have two sticks of the DDR1000 that come stock at 4-4-4-5 and now I can't find them anywhere. I was thinking about upgrading to 4GB in my system but can't find these modules anywhere now??

GSKILL TECH
01-02-2007, 03:37 PM
should be up to newegg very soon

mele
01-22-2007, 08:54 PM
Anyone with this mem and a P5B try this.

4-4-4-5-2-20-3-9-7-9

Let me know how it works.

Mel

mele
01-23-2007, 07:16 PM
Anyone Home!?!?!?!?!?!

GSKILL TECH
01-24-2007, 07:58 AM
it should work, but i haven't test P5B for a while

RottenMutt
01-29-2007, 05:37 PM
G.Skill introduces the new DDR2-1000 2GB matched pair and 1GB single module as DDR2-HZ series that are compatible with Intel platform.
....
Specification :

* Package : 2048MB kit (2x1024MB)
* CAS Latency : 4-4-4-5 (PC8000)
* Test Voltage : 2.2~2.3 V
* PCB Board : 6 Layers PCB
* Speed : DDR II 1000 MHZ (PC8000)
* Type : 240-pin DDR2 SDRAM
* Error Checking : Non-ECC
* Registered/Unbuffered : Unbuffered
* Quality Control :Comprehensive rigorously tested in pair at dual channel environment
* Warranty : Lifetime

hi, i haven't been able to get this memory to run at the advertised settings, it will run at 4-5-5-5 but not 4-4-4-5 (the later is what the spd is programmed at). i've tried in both a abit aw9d-max and and evga i680.

eric

mele
01-30-2007, 04:15 PM
What are your sub timings and voltages?

Roger_D25
02-28-2007, 12:18 PM
Is anyone still keeping up with this thread? I recenlty got this memory and I have been able to get it working at stock speed, voltage, and timings on my eVGA 680i without any issues. With that said Im' returning it to newegg because I'm actually pretty dissapointed with it. I was able to test them for about a week so if anyone has any questoins feel free to ask!

FlyBoyGeo
03-14-2007, 09:37 PM
Anyone keeping up???

I have this memory, a e6600, Abit IN9-32X MAX at 4.05Mhz I cannot get it to run 4-4-4-5 at 500fsb as advertised? Thats through the warranty 2.2v-2.3v range. I have tried all dividers, straps. Is it the i680 chipset? What gives??

I dont know if I should return them like Roger_D25 did?

Roger_D25
03-15-2007, 05:37 PM
FlyBoyGeo,
So you havn't had much luck getting this stuff stable, even at stock speeds and timings? Fortunelty I was able to get them stable at 1000Mhz 4-4-4-5 on 2.275v in Unlocked mode. In my opinion the main reason this stuff is so tough to get stable at stock settings on certain chipsets is because the sub-timings are so tight! Compared to my old Ballistix (PC2-8000) and my current CellShocks (PC2-8000) the Gskills sub-timings were an order of magnitude tighter, lol!

You might have better luck by loosening up the tRC value from whatever it is to 30+ (my Ballistix had a default tRC value of 34 when memory was set to 1000Mhz). Just something to try out, in anycase I wasn't content with them at all (even though it's very easy to just loosen up those sub-timings)! With this all said though this memory was very fast at stock speed and timings (faster than my Ballistix were at 1143Mhz at 4-4-4-5 (stock sub-timings) in SuperPI 32M, all other settings the same)!

Keep us posted on your progress FlyBoy and also let me know if lowering your tRC value helped out at all. Oh yeah, can you post what your sub-timings are when their set to Auto and your memory speed is set to 1000Mhz? Thanks man, good luck!

FlyBoyGeo
03-15-2007, 07:40 PM
Keep us posted on your progress FlyBoy and also let me know if lowering your tRC value helped out at all. Oh yeah, can you post what your sub-timings are when their set to Auto and your memory speed is set to 1000Mhz? Thanks man, good luck!

Awesome post thanks a ton!
I was able to get the 100% Orthos stable with stock timings 4-4-4-5-2T (everything else auto) below cpu clock of 3300Mhz. Above 3300Mhz nothing Orthos stable, I could SuperPI all day though.

Since you mentioned loosening the tRC to 30 I got into windows much much much easier! I am using unlinked 1800*9 and mem 1000 4-4-4-5-2T, other mem settings auto except tRC=20. Currently running Orthos, been about 30 mins, no errors, as I am keeping my fingers crossed. :D

The AUTO setting from BIOS set the memory tRC to 11. I am guessing thats much too tight for that fsb at that cpu clock.

Ill post the updates....

Roger_D25
03-15-2007, 07:46 PM
Nice work, and yes a tRC value of 11 is very tight (at least from the modules I've used). It is great to have that value to tight but it can sometimes limit higher speeds.

ooeric
03-30-2007, 06:41 PM
what are the ICs?

GKX?

Roger_D25
03-30-2007, 06:49 PM
ooeric,
To the best of my knowledge the GSkill F2-8000PHU2-2GBHZ's have come with three different sets of IC's in the past.
*D9GKX
*D9GMH
*D9GCT

I had purchased my kit from newegg about 2 months ago and they came with D9GMH IC's. With that said I think the most common IC's with this kit were the GKX, then GMH, and probably the GCT being the least common IC's used in this kit. Granted I am no expert on what IC's this kit comes with but from reading reviews, articles, talking to other owners, and using the DDR2 IC's list the above seems to be true.

GSKILL TECH
04-12-2007, 08:34 AM
just FYI, right now newegg is out of stock. as i know, the next batch is using GKX.

Roger_D25
04-12-2007, 10:39 AM
Good to know G.S Technician, thanks for posting that info! I had purchased a kit of this RAM from newegg's last batch (2/25) and they were GMH. I should admit that I was hoping for GKX but given the major price reduction I should have realized they wouldn't be GKX! In anycase the kit was very impressive and had the tightest default sub-timings I had ever seen on any kit of DDR2! With that said I ended up selling them because overall I wasn't very happy with them but still a great kit for the price, especially if they will start coming with GKX!

GSKILL TECH
04-17-2007, 01:56 PM
new heatspreader also. with super good not sticky high grade thermal conductive tape

http://www.gskill.us/model/8000/8000hz01.jpg

http://www.gskill.us/model/8000/8000hz02.jpg

http://www.gskill.us/model/8000/8000hz03.jpg

http://www.gskill.us/model/8000/8000hz04.jpg

FlyBoyGeo
04-17-2007, 02:35 PM
Look great...and these will be at newegg soon???

Roger_D25
04-17-2007, 02:52 PM
Thanks for the update, those modules are looking good! Do you happen to know if this new batch is instock anywhere (unless it's top secret that is), lol?

GSKILL TECH
04-17-2007, 02:58 PM
i believe at least 4 out of 5 in newegg now are using new heatspreader

i am pretty sure they are using GKX now. but once again, there is no guarantee for GKX

Roger_D25
04-17-2007, 03:04 PM
Thanks for the post G.S Technician, good to know! If/when I get another kit of this RAM I'll post and verify the IC's. I was just reading an old review of this memory and it posted the retail price at the time of the review and it was close to $500, so the current price is just crazy! Plus one of the most popular kits ever the PC2-6400 2GBHZ's are only $164 at the egg right now, just crazy!

tuanming
04-19-2007, 10:04 PM
Hi G.S Technician, could you tell me whether if my F2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ is D9 or the ICs batch? I brought it last week and I'm very pleased with it. 505 fsb is a sweet spot for P5B with 5-5-5-15-4-42-3-11-7-13 2.1v

Roger_D25
04-20-2007, 09:22 AM
Obviously G.S Technician will have to verify this but I'm about 99% sure all PC2-6400PHU2-2GBHZ's run D9 IC's (and most likely their GMH), so you can rest assured! At their current price (at least at newegg) their probably one of the best kits money can buy!

tuanming
04-21-2007, 04:23 AM
Mine HZ also have a black pcb and i found these serial number on side of the box, not sure if it could tell which ICs i have. 20-231-065(980893)

Roger_D25
04-21-2007, 02:38 PM
Interesting tuanming, although I bought my 2GBHZ's (8000's) about 2 months ago they had greeen PCB. It's weird, although the color of the PCB makes no difference at all I really like having a black PCB (that is probaly why I loved my Ballistix so much), lol! Below are a few shots of my PC2-8000 2GBHZ's,

http://img176.imageshack.us/img176/8104/angleshotee1.jpg

http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/6703/memoryiczd3.jpg

http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/9499/cleanicpictureob6.jpg

tuanming
04-21-2007, 06:19 PM
Well, here's mine :D. Btw, is your D9GMH the top dog of D9's ram?

http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/4451/dscn0258au9.th.jpg (http://img161.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dscn0258au9.jpg)http://img161.imageshack.us/img161/9038/dscn0259ya4.th.jpg (http://img161.imageshack.us/my.php?image=dscn0259ya4.jpg)

Roger_D25
04-21-2007, 09:36 PM
Well there is some different opinions on the matter. Some think that GMH is very good and other really like GKX? I've tried them both and I actually like GMH a bit better although my current GKX are pretty good! Here are my current Cellshocks,

http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/7613/spreaders3xa8.jpg
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/8720/pcb5dr1.jpg
http://img104.imageshack.us/img104/2064/wideview4iu7.jpg

minsc_tdp
04-25-2007, 11:51 AM
Hate to bring negativity to the party, but I've had terrible experience with this RAM. Using it on a BadAxe2, the memory was fine for a while and I OC'd the FSB to around 380 FSB with not too much voltage, and the memory was running at <1000 the whole time (I very carefully watched the Ref/Mem freq's, the timings, the strap, everything) and so basically the RAM was never overclocked. Yet both sticks throw errors individually in memtest86 even when the CPU is not overclocked. I've tried all kinds of settings, I've spent nearly a full week of doing nothing but tweaking the RAM trying to fix this with no success.

The weird thing is the RAM was fine for a while and all of a sudden seemed to blow out, long after my clocks had settled. I firmly believe they overheated since later I noticed the heatspreader thermal tape was not making contact to the outside chips at all due to bowing of the heatspreader. I got a lousy example of what appears to be great RAM and I'm in the middle of working through the situation with G.Skill now, who have been very communicative and helpful.

They have actually recommended that I increase my clock settings vs. what I was using before, to put it closer to 1000 MHz (I was running more like 600/700 to be conservative.) I'm highly skeptical but willing to try a few more things before trying to RMA.

Also these chips refused to POST at 1.8V (default for my board, especially in recovery mode) after I had increased the voltage to ~2.2. This forced me to buy a cheapo stick that boots at 1.8 just to get into recovery mode whenever I had OC issues. But, this RAM is rated at 2.2-2.4V so that is to be expected and I'm not really complaining about it, just commenting.

I bought a set of OCZ Plat Rev. 2 6400s which are working great.

arscom216
06-22-2007, 03:34 AM
Hello: I have bought the F2-8000PHU2-2GBHZ, but the CPU-Z me identifies them this way.:shrug:

http://img106.imageshack.us/img106/7452/500la5.jpg




It will be an error of the CPU-Z so that they are not PC2-6400.

Leeghoofd
07-16-2007, 01:55 AM
Pretty normal as they are in fact PC6400 that are selected for higher speeds, it reads out the correct name though so no worries...

My OCZ are also read out as PC6400... no worries...

tuanming
11-09-2007, 11:38 PM
New motherboard, different e6300, same ram :D =

http://img217.imageshack.us/img217/4973/500fsb600mhzramgi3.th.png (http://img217.imageshack.us/my.php?image=500fsb600mhzramgi3.png)