PDA

View Full Version : Athlon 2100xp: So CONFUSED! Just want FSB->200 ...

Xaphod
02-08-2003, 05:03 PM
Hey all,

I've just spent another 60 minutes reading through this vast collection of intelligent and semi-intelligent posts alike... and i'm not really any better off than when I started :(

Here's what I have:

ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe (nF2 chipset)
256 x 2 kingsmax DDR400 RAM
Athlon XP2100+ palomino, see this link for pic -
http://tdot-dundas.dyndns.org/tdot/cpu_ath2100.jpg
You can see that I have a non-green but lasered version, stepping is clearly visible.

Now I don't have the $$$ for an expensive heatsink/fan combo at the moment (i'm a university student), i'm just running the retail AMD stock one.

What I want is to unlock my cpu's multiplier so that I can run my FSB at 200mhz, because that's what my RAM can handle in SYNC mode.

Please could someone tell me the mods required to the CPU itself in order to allow my mobo to change the multiplier? I want the BELOW 13x range, not above...

I've read the posts about this, but most are trying to o/c and are quite confusing to me... I've read candjac's pages which I find too difficult to understand... I know it sounds like i'm asking for hand-holding, but considering all I want is a specific solution for one CPU I guess it's not too bad.

Maybe later i'll buy a good fan/sink .. is my stepping capable of o/cing well?

thanks in advance,

tim

TodB
02-08-2003, 05:21 PM
For a multies below 13x you'll need to switch the L10 Bridges.....

If it's like :I now you'll have to make it like I: for multies of 5x to 12.5x...... yep, you'll need to HARDmod your CPU....

Xaphod
02-08-2003, 06:03 PM
Originally posted by TodB
For a multies below 13x you'll need to switch the L10 Bridges.....

If it's like :I now you'll have to make it like I: for multies of 5x to 12.5x...... yep, you'll need to HARDmod your CPU....