PDA

View Full Version : super glue as "solder"??

OgreX
11-30-2005, 05:51 AM
k so.. after hearing all the 7800gtx volt mod horror stories..(people melting off parts they shouldn't etc..) and me still* thinking about trying to do the mod with my shaky hands.. even when I've Never touched an iron before anyway...

I just woke up thinking "Is there Seriously no cold soldering compound type products available???"

I mean feel free to call me a complete noob but.. the legs of the "trimmer" only have to make contact with the metal right? is there any reason something like super glue wouldn't be fine if this is the case? or does anyone know of a real product?(is jbweld conductive?)

Jochenp
11-30-2005, 06:51 AM
If glue is conductive, it will screw up your whole card. It will leak onto other legs of the smd and will short-circuit the whole stuff.
You can use SMD-grabbers, they are quite safe and cheap, no soldering required
(and you've got RMA-ability)
I've got some conductive putty her at home, but I wouldn't trust it on my 300$ card, uhuuuh

Banzai
11-30-2005, 07:39 AM
I'd go with the grabbers dude. Best way.

Ryan

IYP
11-30-2005, 08:03 AM
grabbers or if you can be exact with it, conductive epoxy

OgreX
11-30-2005, 08:20 AM
got any links to the conductive epoxy?

OgreX
11-30-2005, 08:23 AM
If glue is conductive, it will screw up your whole card. It will leak onto other legs of the smd and will short-circuit the whole stuff.
You can use SMD-grabbers, they are quite safe and cheap, no soldering required
(and you've got RMA-ability)
I've got some conductive putty her at home, but I wouldn't trust it on my 300$ card, uhuuuh
I think the glue could work with a tooth-pick tack job.. though
is sounding like super glue is conductive..

also pretty sure the grabbers wouldn't work with this mod.. nothing to "grab" for one of the points and the other.. don't see working too well either

Holst
11-30-2005, 10:31 AM