PDA

View Full Version : What should a good dry ice container design consist of?

fareastgq
11-23-2005, 11:39 PM
I'm totally new to it guys, I just read through everything here, hehe. the more I read, the more interested I became.. soo... I especially like some of your guys' designs. I see slight variations in designs from the mouse pot to some holes, to cylindical bands on the inside. I would like to autocad one but have no idea what a good design would be other than put some holes in it and maybe a few bands, hahaha. The purpose of that is surface area, no? if so, why not make somthing that has more holes or more surface area? cnc limited?

afireinside
11-24-2005, 12:24 AM
Make sure it's solid copper. Brazed can not compete.

gclg2000
11-24-2005, 01:08 AM
Make sure it's solid copper. Brazed can not compete.

I'm willing to bet its not that much mo' better....(i know i'm going out on a limb) but if we machined a thick walled copper tube and a thick base and "brazed" (with brass) and NOT silver solder....the copper alloy would do pretty good i bet.

But what's the point of machining a chunk of copper into a tube to just braze it up right???

I have a chilly1 dry ice tube i made myself w/ one of his blocks...the alcohol was covering the block up...(a chunk of copper in itself) and i saw 1 C drop on the mobile chip M 735 i did it to....i ran it just over 3.0ghz....byt a dothan don't get near as hot as some chips.

afireinside
11-24-2005, 01:46 AM
Dothan will hardly heat a tube up, especially at low voltages and clocks like that one. Anyone who has used a solid unit can tell you how much better it is. If you take a look around you'll notice that NONE of the top dice/ln2 benchmarks have been done on brazed tubes. They can NOT hold a load at all. I saw a video of the temps on a brazed DI unit with a pretty good base shoot up like a rocket during 1M PI while my solid unit here sits at -62 to -60c through an entire 32m run at much higher heatloads.

felinusz