PDA

View Full Version : hard drive trouble?

mrnuke
07-26-2005, 05:06 PM
Hey, i bought a SATA 320GB hd from Western Digital and whenever i'm trying to format it for windows, its only reading it as a 130 GB's, although in bios, it reads as a 320gb drive. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Ugly n Grey
07-26-2005, 05:09 PM
change the drive type in BIOS from CHS or auto to "large". Should help

freak22
07-26-2005, 08:11 PM
change the drive type in BIOS from CHS or auto to "large". Should help

or you could take a hammer to it. :D

mrnuke
07-26-2005, 08:36 PM
i thought about the hammer, but then realized i am a college student and that wouldn't be cost effective. Ugly n Grey, thanks for always replying to my threads, although i feel semi retarded for not being able to figure them out on my own. BTW, i have to delete the partition that is made for the large drive mode to take place right?

freak22
07-27-2005, 04:43 AM
no you shouldn't have to. just change the setting in the bios

Ugly n Grey
07-27-2005, 05:15 AM
You may have to delete the partition, yes, by changing the drive type in BIOS, you change the way Windows sees the geometry.

freak22
07-27-2005, 08:18 AM
You may have to delete the partition, yes, by changing the drive type in BIOS, you change the way Windows sees the geometry.

not disagreeing with you on this one but i thought i have done it before without deleting the paratition. could be mistaken though. i would at least try to change the bios first and see what it does before deleting it.

Ugly n Grey
07-27-2005, 08:28 AM
not disagreeing with you on this one but i thought i have done it before without deleting the paratition. could be mistaken though. i would at least try to change the bios first and see what it does before deleting it.