PDA

View Full Version : Help! building my OC gamign rig

PreludeH22
06-27-2005, 08:57 PM
Hi, first post here.

IM a comp newbie and I rushed into buying some items without researching, I have several questions relating to building my comp which IM planning to OC.

So far I got:
19'' NEC LCD 8ms
Abit fatal1ty a8n
pci-e BFG 6800GT OC
1 gig stick of OCZ pc3200, ddr400 whatever its called ram at 3-3-3-8 ..whatever the hell that means.

My questions:

1. Did I just waste my money on this ram? I read everywhere how everyone has pairs. What should I do, just buy another 512x2 or get another OCZ 1 gig stick? also, that 3-3-3-8 ram I got sucks? Go for something higher than ddr400?

2. Im getting an AMD 64 4000+, go for the 90nm or 130nm?

3. How should I complete my set up for this OCing gaming rig. PSU? OCZ powerstream or enermax 600x? and how about HDD? I read how sata sucks for OCing.

Thanks everyone for any help. Im confused on what to buy. what should I BUY!!!!

uscfan
06-27-2005, 09:08 PM
Get a venice chip, its a 90nm. The ram you got is not too great, you might want to return it and get 2x512 for dual channel. Dual channel is considerably faster and the timings you had on that ram (3-3-3-8) aren't too great. Since you are overclocking you want some ram that has tight timings (2-2-2-5) at PC3200. TCCD and UTT are the types of ram you would want.

The motherboard and gfx card are fine.

The LCD you got seems pretty sweet. Will work well for gaming because of its large size and low refresh time.

The Powerstream 520 will do well with your system, but so will the enermax, really it comes down to what your willing to pay. You definitely don't need 600w with one card.w

I hope some others reply so you can get some other opinions.

PreludeH22
06-28-2005, 01:37 AM
Thanks, Ya I might return this ram. How about dual channel 2x1024? So far the OCZ powerstream seems like a good psu for me, only thing IM worried about is me setting the volage wrong.

[XC] moddolicous