PDA

View Full Version : Value RAM vs. "OCing RAM"



KoolDrew
06-16-2005, 06:17 AM
This will be for a rig that will be overclocked. I have heard a lot of people say just get Value RAM and use a divider, but what exactly is a divider? Also from what I have seen the Corsair Value Select reaches around 210MHz (on average). Would this affect my CPU's overclock at all? I don;t exactly understand the divider business.

I could buy RAM that does ~250 @ 2-2-2-5 for a little over $100, but I don't really feel comfortable using that much voltage for my memory. Especially with all the problems I have heard with the DFI board and UTT RAM.

The reason I am asking this is I want to save as much money as possible when builing my rig.

Also does the 10x multiplier really help with the 3200+? If not I may just get a 3000+ if it doesn't affect my max overclock.

I am trying to buy the cheapest componenets without losing performance or limit my max overclock.

Also when I say Value RAM I mean stuff like Corsair Value Select not Value VX. From my understanding there would be little real world performance gain from going with more expensive RAM and I could just use a divider with cheaper RAM and it wouldn't effect my max CPU overclock at all.

I am not looking to get high scores in benchmarks ro anything. I am just looking to build a good gaming rig for a cheap price since I am on a budget that I can overclock.

So again I am trying to just buy the cheapest components possible without losing overclockability or real world performance. There will be basically no difference between expensive low latency RAM and cheap Corsair CAS 2.5 RAM in gaming, but I have never overclocked before so I don't know if it will effect my overclock.

Also this will be my very first rig I have ever built and that is with I am a little worried about using so much voltage with my RAM. UTT RAM does look great considering the price and doing ~265 @ 2-2-2-5.

Could you guys help me out?

LilGator
06-16-2005, 06:40 AM
Use the 133 divider with cheapo ram, with a solid board, you could do 300x9 = 2700MHz CPU & 200MHz RAM ...

KoolDrew
06-16-2005, 06:47 AM
Use the 133 divider with cheapo ram, with a solid board, you could do 300x9 = 2700MHz CPU & 200MHz RAM ...

You think I should just go with the 3000+ with the 9x multiplier then to save some cash? I will also most likely be using the DFI NF4 Ultra-D.

13oost
06-16-2005, 07:16 AM
thats true, but faster ram in latency and frequency means better overall performance, especialy when multitasking and heavy aplications

but its w/e you use your computer for

LilGator
06-16-2005, 08:24 PM
Honestly, I doubt you'll really notice the timings and frequency difference in everyday apps and multitasking ... games and benches is where it shows up big. You don't want to limit your CPU though ...

A 10x multi does give you padding up to 3GHz about ...

WeStSiDePLaYa
06-16-2005, 08:28 PM
try getting some crucial value ram, the micron chips can overclock well.

13oost
06-16-2005, 08:48 PM
why not ocz value series??? the new stuff has bh-5 =/

VX on the Value series was added b/c it use to use the CH-5 off the vx series, currently it uses the BH-5 off of the OCZ Gold series.... so yea, havent seen many if any failures of that BH-5.... even TCCD has these problems

the OCZ Value Ram may get you to 250 2-2-2-5 at higher voltage, but your not guarenteed that

Peen
06-16-2005, 08:58 PM
My PQI ram I got for for $33 a stick 512mb. 1 stick does about 243mhz 2-3-2-5 with 2.55v. The other one I got does 232 with same voltage. My CPU is 267mhz but I cant quit run 1:1 with them, So I have to run 5:4 divider 213mhz 2-3-2-5 and low volts

Sephious
06-16-2005, 09:17 PM
why not ocz value series??? the new stuff has bh-5 =/

VX on the Value series was added b/c it use to use the CH-5 off the vx series, currently it uses the BH-5 off of the OCZ Gold series.... so yea, havent seen many if any failures of that BH-5.... even TCCD has these problems

the OCZ Value Ram may get you to 250 2-2-2-5 at higher voltage, but your not guarenteed that
I'd also have to recommend the Value VX. Great stuff :toast:.

blackjok3r
06-16-2005, 09:30 PM
he dosnt want to use high voltage, and UTT is crap... I'm yet to see dead Old BH-5 in DFI NF4, but hundreds of sticks of UTT is dead.
Yeah dude, get the DFI NF4 with some GeiL performance or corsair value select. Those are very cheap for 1GB and will do ~220Mhz. Also get a 3000+ week 17 venice, if you can find one. I can run mine @ 300*9 = 2700Mhz with only 1.450v vCore set i bios with 310 and 414-3 Bios. Then a 133 divider will give 200Mhz on the ram. Oh and dont forget to set max async latency to 8ns for HTT over 290,

Sephious
06-16-2005, 09:57 PM
he dosnt want to use high voltage, and UTT is crap... I'm yet to see dead Old BH-5 in DFI NF4, but hundreds of sticks of UTT is dead.
Yeah dude, get the DFI NF4 with some GeiL performance or corsair value select. Those are very cheap for 1GB and will do ~220Mhz. Also get a 3000+ week 17 venice, if you can find one. I can run mine @ 300*9 = 2700Mhz with only 1.450v vCore set i bios with 310 and 414-3 Bios. Then a 133 divider will give 200Mhz on the ram. Oh and dont forget to set max async latency to 8ns for HTT over 290,
For UTT-BH you don't need a lot of voltage to get a better overclock than you'll get with those other performance kits. You can get UTT-BH to 220MHz 2-2-2-5 fairly easily with 2.8V.

Oh, and I have a friend who killed two sticks of old BH-5 with his DFI NF4 while not running any voltage above 3.6V.

blackjok3r
06-16-2005, 10:05 PM
can you tell him to post what happned in my thread about old BH-5 death please.

Sephious
06-16-2005, 10:07 PM
can you tell him to post what happned in my thread about old BH-5 death please.
The next time I get a hold of him, I'll tell him to. He's not on MSN at the moment.

13oost
06-16-2005, 10:11 PM
any stick can die at any voltage, that is well know, also inatiquate cooling...

the BH-UTT isnt crap and it isnt the same as the CH.... exactly how many of the BH-UTT do u see keeling over dead like the CH-UTT

also these OCZ Value Series w/ BH-5 that i have can do 200 2-2-2-5 at 2.6vdimm and pass that in memtest... and yea 2.8vdimm at 220 2-2-2-5 isnt very hard for the BH series

any Hynix D5 will do good frequency, but wont see cas 2 at higher frequency

WHEN YOU SAY UTT then say which UTT, there is BH and CH....
majority of the "dead" UTT is the ch....

D4nnyOcean
06-17-2005, 05:18 AM
I was able to take two sticks of 512MB Corsair VS PC3200 2.5CAS to 220MHz @2.7v anything over that they crapped out. Don't remember off hand the chips on the sticks. And for less than $80 for the kit its not bad LINK (http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=80098-21)

KoolDrew
06-17-2005, 05:22 AM
My PQI ram I got for for $33 a stick 512mb. 1 stick does about 243mhz 2-3-2-5 with 2.55v. The other one I got does 232 with same voltage. My CPU is 267mhz but I cant quit run 1:1 with them, So I have to run 5:4 divider 213mhz 2-3-2-5 and low volts

Is this the RAM you got?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16820141173

I was origanally going to get Crucial Value RAM for ~$80 because I have seen 240-250mhz at 2.5-2-2 with less than 3v. The RAM I linked to above is $67 for 1GB though.

What would you suggest?

Peen
06-17-2005, 05:59 AM
Ya thats the stuff. Id maybe get both and sell the stuff that isnt as good clocking. Ya I had this ram at like 255 3-2-2-5 with 2.9v in dual channel I think it was. Any more and it would become really unstable. I dont even think 255 3-2-2-5 was totally stable, just benchable.