PDA

View Full Version : Which soundcard to get for high-end headphones?

Cyrilix
05-31-2005, 09:11 PM
I'm looking to get a pair of Alessandro MS-1 headphones, because I hear that they are just like the SR-125 but slightly better and cheaper (correct me if I'm wrong -- also I know audio is a subjective field). I might even look into the SR-225, although I'm pretty new at the audiophile range of products in general and am sort of jumping directly into some mid-high cost products. I'm just wondering which sound card would do these headphones justice. I currently have an old Sound Blaster 5.1 Live! Value...but I don't think that's a very good sound card for headphones of this quality. I was considering either the Revolution 5.1/7.1 or the Chaintech AV-710 since they both use the Envy24 DAC. Any opinions?

I listen mainly to trance, hard trance, and occasionally electronic music that is harder than what I mentioned there.

Thanks in advance. :)

Spanky Deluxe
06-02-2005, 07:10 PM
I doubt you really need much since most of the 'extra' stuff in expensive sound cards is there for surround sound calculation in a multi-speaker environment, that kind of gets made redundant with headphones. I recently got rid of my Audigy since it seemed kind of pointless since I either use headphones or the SP/DIF out for films and DVDs, thus using the surround sound decoding hardware in my AV Amp.

harpyboy
06-02-2005, 07:51 PM
i have some experience with a high end seinheisser headphones... but it just doesn't sound right with a PC soundcard... i.e. too little power coming out from sound card to do the high-end headphone justice....

so... im really not sure which sound card is good..(im using revolution 7.1.. it's GOOD)... but if u r really into audiophile .. get an amp... use the optical out of the sound card... and power ur headphones thru the amp...

ben805
06-02-2005, 08:16 PM