PDA

View Full Version : RMA'ing RAM, what to change for?



dave164
05-17-2005, 02:12 AM
My RAM has turned faulty as i get errors in memtest86 and games randomly freeze and close.

Basically i really really want to overclock my venice which is coming by end of the week, so i need overclockers RAM, i cant have the OCZ Gold VX series as the motherboard doesnt support more than 2.9v (MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum).

Should i get the 2 x 512mb OCZ platinum rev2 again or change it for some OCZ Gold PC4000? I did hear the OCZ Gold PC4000 cant do very well overclocking..

dave164

CTKP
05-17-2005, 02:16 AM
Go with the rev2s

dave164
05-17-2005, 06:32 AM
What about G.Skill PC4400?

Disposibleteen
05-17-2005, 10:03 AM
yea thats good too, the LEs are the best so if you can find them, get them

dave164
05-17-2005, 11:51 AM
The ZT or something PC3200 is £89... £200 for the PC4400 LE...

Also ive seen someone with a 3000+ Venice @ 2.8Ghz on air with the ZT PC3200 stuf

dave164
05-17-2005, 10:30 PM
OCZ only allow me to do an exchange, ill see how i go with it in overclocking, if i do badly ill buy the G.Skill and then if i do better sell the OCZ