PDA

View Full Version : Just got a PB

antipop
04-27-2005, 12:12 PM
I've decided to give a try to mac os and i bought a nice powerbook 15". I used the fact that i'm still a student to get a nice deal.
The first reason why i bought it was for the design, it looks awesome, it's light and pretty thin (of course you can't compare it to the small sony's but that's not the point here).
As far as the hardware go, i have no complain : wifi, bluetooth, firewire 800, usb, the backlite keyboard... The sound is very good for a laptop. The trackpad is good and the finger stuff to scroll is very useful. It doesn't run hot, i still haven't heard the fan blow and i'm using it on my lap for a couple of hours without a problem (it's a bit warm but not hot). Minus point : the keyboard feels like cheap plastic to the touch (but the quality seems to be there i just don't like the touch)
Mac OS is really nice, i still haven't really seen it all but i got a lot of nice options to make life easier, expose is a great tool and you get used to it pretty easily. i think it'll become my main machine even if all my stuff is on the pc (i got something like 500Gb of hard disk on it) maybe i'll silence it and make a server that will run 24/7

Anyway i don't regret the move and i'm very happy with the comp and i can't wait to receive the new OS (Tiger). Tomorrow i'm going to buy myself a crumpler bag and i already have the iCurve, the bluetooth keyboard and a mx900

MaxxxRacer
04-27-2005, 05:00 PM
go put linux on it!

antipop
04-27-2005, 07:43 PM
go put linux on it!
What's the point? I bought it because i don't want any headache and so i don't have to search for hours to make something work. Plus OSX is the best part about apple

RonJ83
05-04-2005, 07:59 AM
did you get it with OSX Tiger 10.4 or Pather 10.3?

antipop
05-04-2005, 01:54 PM
Panther but as i'm typing tiger is installing on the pb :)