PDA

View Full Version : Dry ice question

ctgilles
12-07-2002, 12:40 PM
Hey guys,

Since I'm gonna bench soon, I have a little question: with dry ice, I'm gonna use 50% antifreeze and 50% water, will this be the right mixture so I can still pump it around in my circuit? Or do I need pure antifreeze? (remember the viscosity guys :D )

CodeRed
12-07-2002, 06:07 PM
I am no expert on this so take what I say with a grain of salt.

I think dry ice is too cold (-78 deg C) for the antifreeze/water combo to work. Antifreeze is only good for about -20 to -40 deg C (depending on brand). I heard people using acetone as the cooling fluid to use with dry ice as it doesnt freeze at -78 deg C.

Charles Wirth
12-07-2002, 08:33 PM
Dry Ice will freeze Antifreeze if you mix too much water

aenigma
12-07-2002, 09:35 PM
Well antifreeze will go down to about -40c or so if you mix it correctly.Use alcohol, much better liquid to use...

ctgilles
12-08-2002, 12:56 AM
alcohol, methanol, I got that :D

KnightElite
12-08-2002, 01:21 AM
Methanol is good, if you could get denatured ethanol it would be better though, since it's not toxic, unless your drink it, and according to this (http://scifun.chem.wisc.edu/chemweek/ethanol/ethanol.html) it freezes at -114.1ºC. It's a few dollars for a bigass bottle of the stuff too, from laboratory equipment companies. And actually, that's a better freezing point than methanol, which is only -98ºC.

aenigma
12-08-2002, 05:00 PM
Methanol has better heat transfer abilities though.It is toxic, but just don't drink it.I got a mouth full of it(priming a pump) and I didn't even get sick.But I also didn't swallow it :)
If your going to just throw dry ice in the methanol, then your going to be breathing alot of methanol vapors.You should make a heat exchaner.Just a spiraled copper pipe in an ice chest or something insulated.Pour the dryice over the pipe...

ctgilles
12-09-2002, 04:20 AM
Yeah, my mom has a pharmacy, so getting some methanol won't be difficult :D