PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Ever Attempted Liquid Helium?

kouch
02-26-2005, 02:40 PM
Hi guys,

I am no expert by any means but at our school physics department, they use some liquid helium for some superconductor experiments. I was just wondering if anyone has tried using this stuff (around 10 deg K) or at those temps do the physical properties of silicon change too much to work anymore?

Jort
02-26-2005, 04:37 PM
isn't it very expensive?

Liquid helium boils at -268.93 Centigrade

who doesn't want that.
maybe it is to cold like your saying.
you need very thick insulation too i guess :p

Stewie007
02-26-2005, 06:01 PM
Not satisfied with liquid nitrogen? hehe

SoddemFX
02-27-2005, 04:40 AM
With liquid nitrogen, you spill it on yourself and get a nasty burn at worst. Liquid helium would penetrate your skin, expand inside the body -and you'd die :)

Ignoring the cost, its just too dangerous.

Tom

Muffe
02-27-2005, 03:49 PM
Maybe someone should borrow a laboratory with the correct suits and see if there is any borders for a WR that can be moved on some CPU/GPU's

Would probably be VERY expensive :)

dippyskoodlez
02-27-2005, 03:50 PM
Maybe someone should borrow a laboratory with the correct suits and see if there is any borders for a WR that can be moved on some CPU/GPU's

Would probably be VERY expensive :)

Very cool nonetheless :D

Dissolved
02-27-2005, 03:54 PM
i don't think processors would run that cold.

blinky
02-27-2005, 11:49 PM
theyd definitely not boot up

9mmCensor
02-28-2005, 12:04 AM
Once long ago, Fugger concidered (and bought a helium Compressor), but it seems the project never got off the ground.

D_o_S
02-28-2005, 11:58 AM
Yeah, my dad said he could get me a whole container of liquid helium (well, how much I needed anyway, he knows a guy who works with it every day). Should I give it a shot? Where can I get that big "chimney" from, to pour it into?

dippyskoodlez
02-28-2005, 12:36 PM