PDA

View Full Version : G3 Oc?



blueworm
02-06-2005, 12:59 PM
I just aquired a B&W G3 300mhz, I have found how to overclock it . Has anybody tried what kind
of problems will I run into? How high is it possibe to OC it? :banana:
I am installing gentoo linux on it as i type. does the G3 have a H/W monitoring chip of any sort to see
cpu temp and fan speed etc?

Charles Wirth
02-06-2005, 01:07 PM
on apple you will be incrasing the multiple, it is fairly safe as long as you increase cooling too.

[XC] moddolicous
02-06-2005, 01:09 PM
I have over clocked a 9600, but the results weren’t worth the trouble, but it was fun. I made a thread about it. You have to remove the resistor and put it on a different rating. It worked, but I had to add a fan onto the heat sink because of the increases heat. That was after I lapped the heat sink and put AS5 on the chip. I never OCed a G3, but good luck with it and post results.

blueworm
02-06-2005, 01:14 PM
on apple you will be incrasing the multiple, it is fairly safe as long as you increase cooling too.
The socket seems about the same size as socket 462 maybe If I slap a thermalright SLK800 on it??
I'm sure Its gotta cool better than the stock HS.

blueworm
02-07-2005, 11:27 AM
I quit this project giving the mac back to my sister.
It crashed countless times during install. I'm too stressed out from work to want to do battle with this.

kryptobs2000
02-07-2005, 06:16 PM
lol, I know how you feel, sometimes you just get tired of dealing with sh*t

wr0x2
02-10-2005, 03:54 AM
I've gotten a g3 @ 300 to 400 mhz with no increase in cooling or voltage. It's been running like that for over a year now, completly stable. I guess it was a good chip :p:.

blueworm
02-10-2005, 11:49 AM
I've gotten a g3 @ 300 to 400 mhz with no increase in cooling or voltage. It's been running like that for over a year now, completly stable. I guess it was a good chip :p:.
If my math does not fail me that is an outstanding OC +33%
On 1 mac site I read that 50 mhz more was the norm. Are'nt you curious to see if it will do any more with some serious cooling :stick:

wr0x2
02-11-2005, 10:38 AM
The computer's not mine, but if I can ever get it under some phase change you bet I'll push it! :cool:

[XC] moddolicous
02-11-2005, 01:34 PM
I didnt know you could change it on a G3. I know on the older cpu's it has a resistor, and the new ones I think also have them. How do u do it on a G3?

wr0x2
02-11-2005, 06:53 PM
There's a jumper block you can set. It's really easy to do, no soldering required.

TribesMan
02-17-2005, 02:38 AM
I overclocked my G3 B&W 300MHz to 500MHz. Of course with voltmod and improved cooling. Without voltmod I was able to run it at 400MHz stable.
Voltage on CPU is now 2.4V (2.0V standard), and it is cooled with Zalman 6000AlCu. I also placed a small heatsink on chipset because it was runnig very hot without it.

I replaced original 6GB hard drive with new Hitachi 80GB 8MB, and original ATI Rage 128 graphics card with ATI Radeon 9000 PCI.

So this little baby is quite fast now... Fast enough for office applications, internet and movies.

[XC] moddolicous
02-17-2005, 04:25 PM
Good job tribesman. That quite an increase, about 66%. I'll have to start to try this out, but first I need a G something tower. Maybe a G4 off of ebay.

TribesMan
02-24-2005, 06:10 AM
I'd go for Mac mini... this little thing rocks... 1.25 goes easiliy up to 1.5GHz... maybe even more with some volt modding or better CPU cooler...

[XC] moddolicous
02-24-2005, 11:01 AM
That might not be a bad idea. If you find the volt mod, then maybe I might buy 1 and try it.

JSU
02-24-2005, 01:43 PM
well we have a old g3 imac thats not doing anything. i might just stick it under the cascade lol.