PDA

View Full Version : Crazy Thought

Player0
11-20-2002, 08:04 AM
I have a P4 based notebook with a 2.0ghz Northwood in it right now. Its a Prostar 5694 and only supports a 400mhz bus. I'd like to upgrade the processor sometime by spring, but had some questions since I'm new to the intel game.

I have the 845MP chipset on this board, and it can take up to the 2.6g 400mz P4 cpus. More recent P4s are 533mhz bus. My questions are:

1.) Are there any utilities for overclocking 400mhz P4 chipsets? Ive had no luck at all raising the FSB on this notebook as theres no options for it in BIOS.

2.) The new 3.06 has hyperthreading, which seems to make a big difference. Would it be possible to run this chip on a 400mhz FSB system (which would make it run as a 2300mhz)? And would this be faster than a 400mhz 2.6g processor (because of the hyperthreading advantage?)

3.) Or should I wait for future P4 533mhz processors, ones with a higher multiplier so that I get better performance from them with a 400mhz system.

Thanks for the help

SHrKY
11-21-2002, 01:40 AM
First off, you're sure your laptop has a desktop chip in it, right? Sorry if it seems like a dumb question, but Prostar sells both mobile and desktop based laptops so I can't really make that assumption. If it is a desktop chip, realize that a faster chip will make put off more watts, which may or may not be a problem depending on what kind of heat solution prostar put in it.

As far as the 2.6GHz vs. an underclocked 3.06 at 2.3 with HT, I'm pretty sure for just about every possible application, multithreaded or not, the 2.6 would come out on top. Also, the 400MHz FSB 2.6 would be a lot cheaper than a brand new 3.06, so IMO there's no question that you should go with the 2.6.