PDA

View Full Version : OCZ EL Platinum 4200



VetteTheHeretic
01-17-2005, 01:28 AM
Is this a wise choice for ram? it's like 80 dollars more than everything else I see mentioned here, but I really like OCZ and don't really want to use a different company, unless this is a total ripoff.

Also is there such a thing as OCZ platinum 4200 revision 2? My friend says this is what he has.

Tony
01-17-2005, 01:41 AM
There is no 4200plat rev2 as far as i know. remember your buying into an awesome after sales program also with guys here to help if you have issues with your product.

eva2000
01-17-2005, 02:45 AM
Which you after ?

OCZ PC4200 Plat rev2 as in DDR2 for LGA775 P4 systems ?
or
OCZ PC4200 Plat as in DDR1 ?

ed.howell
01-17-2005, 04:34 AM
I have this ram, DDR1, and it is awesome. What system are you running it on Intel or AMD? TCCD likes AMD better than Intel. OCZ hand tested my ram on an Asus P4C800E at 290FSB 2.5-3-3-8@2.85volts. Unfortunately my mobo wont go anything over 278-289FSB :mad: Right now I am at 2-3-3-5 3.0volts at 245FSB. Cannot get 2-2-2 timings on anything over about 225FSB.

On AMD's I think I read they are capable of over 300FSB. But maybe Tony can confirm this or point us to the thread about this.

VetteTheHeretic
01-17-2005, 12:12 PM
Right now I'm running an i875 intel system but I plan on selling that all off by febuary and getting Athlon 64 NForce4. I just have to sell my BH-5, and x800xt first cause those cant make the jump to pci-e with me and I only have one comp so I cant stand having this down for more than like 1 day

I mean DDR1

Supertim0r
01-22-2005, 04:04 PM
i think ill replace my dead OCZ VX with a gig ocz 4200plat :slobber: