PDA

View Full Version : How does RAM work internal?

BerT
01-08-2005, 03:10 AM
Hi ,
First of all I want to thank you for letting me be a part of this forum.
I'm not quite new here since I follow this forum quite some time now.

Second , I dont know if this is the right place to ask my question here but if not place be my guest to move it. :)

Straight to the point.
I'm in my last year of high school and we have some kind of final task to graduate.
We can chose the subject. I chose overclocking since It kept me fascinated through the years.
I have to explain to people who don't know a thing of computers what overclocking is all about.
I think I did quite a good job till now. Now I need to explain what timings are all about. I just quickly defined it as "the value of the time intervalls that a certain action is executed in the memory"
Sorry for my bad english.
I know this isnt suffisant so I first want to explain how the ram works, so I can explain the values of the timings ?

I hope you understand me...
Plz feel free to correct my english.

Thx in advance
BerT

Jessfm
01-08-2005, 05:23 AM
http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&q=ram+timings+explained&btnG=Google+Search&meta=

that should keep you busy for a few hours

BerT
01-08-2005, 05:27 AM
Funny as it seems , I entered the same tags in google so I already had that info.

I need a short and clean explanation. Somebody resumes his info and I resume that info so that it's really easy and simple explained.

I hope I make myself clear.
I had expected another reply but still thanks for your help.
I appreciate...

BerT

Jessfm
01-08-2005, 05:33 AM
You want someone to do the reading for you & condense it.

TBH thats not going to help you 'understand' . All you would be then doing is quoting.

BerT
01-08-2005, 05:45 AM
Idd , I formulated it wrong...

I've read the first 3 pages of google ... the same as you gave me.
I think I managed to explain it quite obviously ...