PDA

View Full Version : How's this idea look? (first post)

PsychoActive
11-15-2002, 02:18 PM
This is my first time here, so hi all!

I'm wanting to get more out of my current Gainward GF4 128Mb. Right now it's running 320/580 with watercooling. Here's a pic:

http://forums.xfactorclan.com/attachments/GF4_after.jpg

I'm thinking of volt-modding it, but stopping there just doesn't sound like much fun. I have a couple peltiers lying around here (an 80W and a 111W) and was thinking of throwing one of them in the mix. I have experience with peltier-cooling cpu's (old Celery 533 a few years back), but I'm not really sure about video cards. Would the 111W be overkill (it would have a dedicated ps)? I figure with a v-mod it would run a bit hotter, but I have no idea what range the wattage would fall at. I made that waterblock myself... do you think it would handle the extra peltier heat comfortably (all-copper)?

Other random questions:

- For any of you that have v-modded your cards, has the card died after a time, or are they relatively tolerant of the extra V with appropriate cooling (and is the core more accepting than the ram)?

- I'm thinking of using a coating of Vaseline on the board to ward off the evil condensation spirits if I decide on the peltier. Anyone know if the petrolium in it could damage or corrode any components?

Thanks for any input you may have, and for pointing out anything I might be overlooking.

Btw, here's my ghetto-box, though I've since taken out the northbridge block and added a blue cathode... and those connectors on the back of the case direct water to about 40ft of copper tubing in a window fan to take advantage of the sub-freezing air outside:

http://forums.xfactorclan.com/attachments/PIC00020.jpg

Emericana
11-15-2002, 08:27 PM
it looks uhh.... GhettoFabulous!:thumbsup:

serioulsy i really like ghetto mods tho very nice esp if you get good temps

sorry i dont have any answers to your questiosn just wanted to comment on your setup