PDA

View Full Version : Someone good at electronics? Resistors getting less effective?

xtremetheme
07-07-2004, 02:30 PM
Ok, im not good at electronic calculations and i dont know why this happens.

I have a 5V source. I apply a cable to it with 1M ohm resistor.
After the resistor the V is 2.5.
I add another resistor, after that the V is 1.7.
I add another one and now have ~ 1.2at the end.
So i have like 3 million ohm resistance and i still cant block the 5V out.
And if i add more 1Ms i guess they will be less effective every time, but why??

Hell-Fire
07-07-2004, 06:37 PM
Part of it is that the resistors are more than likely not exactlly 1M each...there is generally a 10% "play" in them where they can be high or low.

No matter what you do, there is always gonna be voltage across the circuit unless the current or resistance drops to zero. If the resistance drops to zero, you have a short circuit.

Everytime you increase the resistance, you decrease the current in the loop. So unless the current becomes zero, there is always going to be some voltage in the loop. As the resistance gets larger and larger, the voltage will start to drop to milli-volts and so on and so on.

enzoR
07-09-2004, 06:50 AM
its the ohms law

V=IR

its not linear or how do u call it?.

as the volts decrease the resistance changes, well not quite. its really hard for me to explain, but its correct. their aint anything wrong.

what do u mean you wanna block the 5v out. turn 5v into 0??

phobos
07-09-2004, 07:42 AM
Easy to explain:

I think you connect the resistor in series to the power supply. Than you measured the voltage "behind" the resistor with your multimeter wich has an internal resistor of round about 1MOhm. So the Voltage is devided 50:50. If you put another resistor in series it will devided in 1/3 on each resistor wich will give you 3.3V at the 2MOhms and 1.7V at your multimeters internal resistor.

And what the hell do you mean with "i still cant block the 5V out" ?

And enzoR: