PDA

View Full Version : Figuring out a wireless G network along with 8 ports

BMORIN
06-11-2004, 02:24 PM
Need a creative networking solution. Any help is greatly appreciated. I'm an absolute novice in doing this, but enjoy doing it.

Here's what I have
6 computers and 1 copier all connected together on a 8 port hub (no internet) (everything cat5). It's just a simple peer to peer network.

Here's what I need to do:
Hook onto a wirelessG router with a satellite broadband connected to it so I can share the broadband over the network both wirelessly and to a possible 8 hardwired computers

I also need something to expand the range of the wireless because the access point will be a little more than 300 feet where some need to access it. My router will be downstairs in a far corner of the building and most the work takes place upstairs about 500 ft away or so. It is a steel building if that makes any difference.

I don't know if there are any 8port wireless routers out there (can only find 4 port), if not, what do I need to put together to accomplish what I need. I have a wirelessB network in my home but too ignorant to know how to expand the range or add another access point to expand my coverage.

I know it's probably some simple solutions, but I would appreciate any advice.

Thx

John Cena
06-11-2004, 03:19 PM
Well, what your talking is going to be heavy in the $$$.

There is NO 8 port wireless routers. A wireless router can accept as many connections as you want ASlong as each computer has a wireless network card.

Get your self a wireless router, and 8 wireless network cards.
To increase asscess point coverage, take a laptop withyou ALL over the building/house and see where the connection is lost/or is weak.

At that point add another wireless router and go around the building and find another weak point and add another wireless router.

Although a small building would only require 2 wireless routers.

So it would go like this

Satellite modem > Wireless router