PDA

View Full Version : Self-contained water chiller design - with pics

LuckMan212
04-18-2004, 11:28 AM
I've been casually researching water chillers over the past few days, as it gets quite hot here in the summer (>105F easily) and my basic W/C setup will not likely be able to keep my CPU <45C in that heat.

Most of the stuff I have seen here involves large/messy setups with lots of exposed pipe and A/C power or just in general setups that take up too much room. While these are very impressive performance wise, they are not really suited to my apartment w/ wife+small kids. I was trying to design something that was somewhat attractive and self-contained, and came up with the following design.

Since I am new to chilling, I would appreciate any comments on this (flaws, problems, etc):

http://www.f2systems.com/files/self_contained_chiller.gif
note: not pictured here are the on/off switches (3 switches: for fan, pump, and compressor)

basically the goal of this is to have a quiet, easy to hide solution that allows simply hooking up normal 1/2" ID Tygon to those inlet/outlet barbs and routing them through some holes drilled in the back of my case.

A few questions:

1) I am not really interested in sub-zero temps-- I don't want to have to deal with a lot of bulky insulation and condensation problems. I am looking for temps in the 10-20C range. Is this possible using chillers or do they always go sub-zero?

2) is the methanol necessary since I am not planning to go sub-zero? (see#1)

3) are any of the aquarium chillers listed HERE (http://www.marinedepot.com/aquarium_chillers__index.asp?CartId=) up to this task? they are expensive but it would be worth it for the size and eliminating the hassle of ripping apart a fridge or air conditioner in my apartment :p:

4) Could something like this be used to cool multiple computers in a daisy chain?