PDA

View Full Version : what waterblock for chiller?



Boyne7
03-25-2004, 06:19 PM
i just got my new shuttle an50r and my a64 3200+
set it up and i need a new waterblock for it. i was thinking either danger den maze 4 or RBX but am not sure, im basicalyl just looking for the best a64 block for a chiller. TIA

megahurtz-oc
03-27-2004, 12:25 AM
man ive tried a couple water blocks and the polar flo sf is just plain awsome.

NesQuiK
03-27-2004, 06:52 AM
DTEK tc4 rev2 ? :O sounds good to me if ure goinf in the miness degrees

afireinside
03-27-2004, 07:28 AM
me leiks teh tc4 :D

kommando
03-27-2004, 03:00 PM
Something simple and not the rbx :)

I've got a white water which i will be using because of its great performance :)

sandman
03-27-2004, 03:21 PM
Go with the maze4, insulating 3 barbs would be a pain.

afireinside
03-27-2004, 03:34 PM
Maze4 usues luciet holddown which will crack. Get a TC4. And with chilled water block doesent really matter.

blinky
03-29-2004, 03:00 AM
is the white water the best even tho it has 3 barbs?

Miles_Teg
04-05-2004, 06:01 AM
When waterchilling you cannot just look at performance. An RBX or LRWW might be the best for normal watercooling, but with chillers you have to keep insulation in mind. Go for a straight square all copper waterblocks, preverably no too large (insulation will add to its size). Afireinside is right that with chilling the block doesn't really matter as temps will be low anyway. But keep in mind that performance differences seen with normal watercooling don't just disappear when chilling. A better block will still be better.

OCme
04-05-2004, 11:50 AM
Originally posted by Miles_Teg
But keep in mind that performance differences seen with normal watercooling don't just disappear when chilling. A better block will still be better.

I concur, a good water block will make a good methanol block. Thermal efficiency does not change and is one of the few constants you can count on in when choosing a water block for your cooling loop.

Boyne7
04-05-2004, 03:41 PM
the tc-4 doesnt come in an a64 version, which will fit better, the socket A or the socket 478?

Boyne7
04-05-2004, 03:42 PM
or will i have to find my own way of mounting it either way?

Boyne7
04-05-2004, 03:53 PM
well i just purchased the socket A. thanx for the input