PDA

View Full Version : ocing sound system



saaya
03-20-2004, 12:17 PM
i noticed that i get weird hick ups at high volume with a lot of base sounds on my creative 6.1 soround system. could it be the external psu that cant keep up with the load?

its an external 13.5v 5A power supply, since my psu is overvolted to 13.5-14v couldnt i just use the fortron psu to power the thing? it has 20A on the 12v rail and im not running a pelt or anything, should it work?

does anybody know if the sound system uses ac or dc? and even if, its possible to power ac parts with dc right?

felix88
03-20-2004, 12:29 PM
the sound system is most likely DC, and it will only use as much current as it needs. it probably doesn't need the 5 amps that it is provided.

felix88
03-20-2004, 12:38 PM
now if the fortron produces a more stable output than the stock PSU, that would probably help.

to me it sounds like there might be something wrong with the amplifier.

saaya
03-20-2004, 01:15 PM
who moved this to the videocard section??? :stick:

IFMU
03-20-2004, 01:49 PM
No clue, but

Moved to
Xtreme Systems Forums > Hardware > General Hardware > Sound Cards & Audio products.

saaya
03-20-2004, 05:09 PM
thx :toast:

ok i meassured the output of the psu, looks like its perfectly stable... the problem must be something else then :/

felix88
03-21-2004, 09:43 PM
if it's a known problem with the specific system you have, it's probably a flaw in the amplifier portion of the setup.

do you have multiple inputs? i.e. 2 analog and 1 digital like my older Creative Labs setup.

i'd check to see if Creative has any fixes on their webpage. i for one am never going back there again. :p: