PDA

View Full Version : Some Q's about linux

antipop
03-20-2004, 04:49 AM
I'm thinking about switching to linux for a try but i've some questions before taking the leap

1 - First what distro to use? I've mess up a bit with linux before and i've some basic knowledge of Unix (all my lessons are under unix here)

2 - Will i have a problem with drivers? my rig is a p4c, is7-e, radeon 9700np, hercules game theater. I plan to buy a sata drive soon.

3 - Will i be able to find all the codecs for video and audio? Like ogg or xvid?

4 - I still want to be able to play games, so i'll keep win2k installed, is there another way to do it?

5 - Except games, i use winamp, outlook (not express), IE, MSN Messenger, WM player, powerdvd, a bit of photoshop, .... What are the equivalent for linux?

6 - What i shouldn't forget to do before installing linux? I don't want to install and then see that i missed something

7 - Any other comments appreciated

ps i'll post more question again as i think about it

Teus
03-20-2004, 04:58 AM
Originally posted by antipop
1 - First what distro to use? I've mess up a bit with linux before and i've some basic knowledge of Unix (all my lessons are under unix here)

RH9, fedora or Mandrake. mandrake is the easiest one

2 - Will i have a problem with drivers? my rig is a p4c, is7-e, radeon 9700np, hercules game theater. I plan to buy a sata drive soon.

mandrake 10 is the only official distro with kernel 2.6. you need kernel 2.6 for SATA drives, kernel 2.4 SATA support isn't very well I think. I'm not sure though. the graphics quality of radeon cards under linux is very bad. even gf2 cards do better

3 - Will i be able to find all the codecs for video and audio? Like ogg or xvid?
yep, all supported

4 - I still want to be able to play games, so i'll keep win2k installed, is there another way to do it?
all openGL games work under Linux. try RTCW:ET. it works under Linux, is very good and it's free!!