PDA

View Full Version : New Project

DrunKBunny
03-14-2004, 05:30 PM
First off I just want to say hi - I have been checking out these forums on and off for about a year since I got in to overclockage and cooling.

As it is the march break and I have some excess money and nothing better to do, I have decided to invest in a new project. I have dabbled in water but I am new to extreme cooling. Since the window a/c unit converted to water chiller seems to be a nice project to try out to get in to this sort of thing, I am going to attempt to use it to cool my Barton 2500+ and 9800 Pro.

I do have a heatercore lying around from before, but I will need to get a new pump and GPU/CPU block. Most likely I will grab a MaxiJet 1200 and a DD or Swifty block.

Just a few questions to get me on my way:

1) Is there a really noticable performance difference between a Maze4, RBX, or MCW5000?

2) From what I can see, the a/c unit will cool a resevoir full of liquid that houses a submerged res and pump, which connects to a normal watercooling loop, right?

3) I chose this type of cooling because it would get me in to phase change without me having to mess around with gases much (besides tuning the level of refrigerant), will I have to ever refill it or something like that?

4) I noticed that the Kenmore models are popular here, is there any model I should be looking for or what is recommended?

Thanks, I will be leaving updates as this comes along (if I actually go through with this =).

kommando
03-14-2004, 05:39 PM
Firstly, welcome :)
1) Rbx is gay, get the maze4
2) That is correct, smaller res's are better because you don't have to cool alot of water
3) You have to refil if you break a line so be carefull
4) MMM I dno

afireinside
03-14-2004, 06:15 PM
What he said but the 3 barb jet blocks suck for chilling, the maze4 is a crap block and I heard it doesent hold and I dont know about the swiffy unless your using 3/8" tubing because the plastic 1/2" barbs they give you WILL break.