PDA

View Full Version : How to clean crud out of radiator?

lalPOOO
03-08-2004, 03:34 PM
I've got a small radiator/transmission oil cooler here that I've been messing around with for a couple months. I'm slowly going to ease myself into watercooling at atm the only thing really stopping me is money and a proper pump.

Anyways I must have left some water inside the thing because it seems to have grown some stuff inside, and theres a general residue of filth built up inside from what I can see. Whats the best way to get this crap out?

Also, if anyone is good with pumps, I have this
http://www.thesustainablevillage.com/servlet/display/product/detail/23418
It has proven to be quite the bastard with its noisemaking, vibration, intolerance and I'm pretty sure its a bit leaky too. I'm not really sure what I can do with it other then running submerged (something I don't plan to do) This pump is 2x louder then my current computer, which has something like 8 or 9 fans in it. :confused:
I'm pretty sure I'm just going to buy a Danner Mag3 and sell this one or throw it somewhere, but it'd be cool if I could actually use it.

Karnivore
03-08-2004, 03:50 PM
Sorry, no help on your pump other than to suggest a replacement. However to clean your H2O loop, or components, the following mixture works well (I've used it), The Quote is from AirSpirit over at ProCooling.

*sol (75% Pine Sol 25% Lysol): cleans hose deposits, kills bugs, raises your grandmother from the grave, organizes your socks, VERY bad for efficiency

skate2snow
03-08-2004, 03:59 PM
6GPM is not bad. But a danner mag 3 whould be great and cheap. The only thing ive heard of bad about that pump is the heat, so if you can put it before your Radiator i think that problem is dead.

lalPOOO
03-08-2004, 04:14 PM