PDA

View Full Version : Linux SVN Repository - Raid 6

MBomberZ1
01-20-2014, 07:49 PM
Hey everyone,

Brief rundown. I am helping with the build of a new server where I work. Here are the stats of what we currently have decided on. I am looking for some suggestions from the storage experts as to what if anything should be done differently. I am fairly new to all of the server side of things and would like to get some extra advice if possible.

Server will be used for SVN repository storage as well as a render manager and file server/storage for 3d renderings and an internal Wiki.
Linux
Software Raid 6
4 x 3TB WD Enterprise SATA Drives - We expect to expand as needed.
Base server - http://www.supermicro.com/products/system/2u/6027/sys-6027r-72rft.cfm
1 CPU and when needed either add in a 2nd duplicate, or upgrade both to something better if needed. Starting with: http://ark.intel.com/products/75787/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E5-2609-v2-10M-Cache-2_50-GHz
32GB ECC Registered RAM

Now at the moment, this server is only going to be used by a small team of 6-10 people. Our files can be numerous and vary in size from a few MB to a few GB. This is all based around 3D work and the per person commit can be fairly high on a daily basis. Overall we chose raid 6 because of the up time it would allow us when a drive fails. We do backups but the danger of running a raid 5 then having to rebuild for a few days with no spare drive just doesn't sit well with me.

Now I expect this to be used by around 25+ people by this time next year, so that's the main reason were going with the 2 socket board.

Main Questions for you experts:

Would you raid 6? if not, what
Does the on board raid controller need to support raid 6 if its going to be done by software?
For something of this size, up to ~6 drives x 3TB each ~18TB of storage, would a hardware raid card be a better choice than a Linux based software raid?