PDA

View Full Version : Which compressor

naTTen
09-06-2002, 12:08 PM
I wanna build myself a nice cooling system. I have no experience with vapor cooling att all but i understand what is does and i know which parts i need(i think)

I have checked out http://www.danfoss.com/Compressors/ and i have decided to use the R404A TC4Lwich seems to be a good compressor.

But i dont know which coolant that i should use, i can´t use freon because its illegal to use where i live. So which one??

And then i need a condesator or whatever its called. but can i take just anyone or does it have to hav a certain tube diameter and lenght or inner volume???

And now tho the difficult part( at least what i have heard) the capillary tube. How long, which inner diameter??

Do i need a reciver ? and do i need a capillary tube if i use a reciver? and if I need a reciver how big??

And then the evaporator. well, that thing i already know how i should bulid it.

Is it anything i have forgot??
Its 3 lines from the R4004A compressor and i wonder what are the third line for, one is the discharge line, and the other is the line from the evaporator.

|PuNiSh3R|
09-06-2002, 09:23 PM
But i dont know which coolant that i should use, i can´t use freon because its illegal to use where i live. So which one??

I'd use propane as the refrigerant.. widely available and cheap.. It's what I use..

And then i need a condesator or whatever its called. but can i take just anyone or does it have to hav a certain tube diameter and lenght or inner volume???

Condensor.. the thing which takes the heat off of the freshly compressoed refrigerant turning it from a gas to a liquid..

I'd use a condensor which has 1/4" ID copper tubing or 3/8" ID copper tubing. You want the condensor to atleast be twice as large as your evaporator and have as much surface area as possible. You could pick one up out of a window AC unit.. or dehumidifer.