PDA

View Full Version : What do you guys do to buy all that hardware?

badatgames18
09-03-2011, 07:13 PM
Some of you guys bin chips like crazy... (i've only had 8 2600ks ever... some have one each week it seems like) they're pretty expensive.

what are your jobs? I'd like to know since i might be graduating college 1 year early if i take a summer semester. (math major with cs minor :))

Kayin
09-03-2011, 07:27 PM
I'm retired from IT (disabled) and I write and I'm a stay-at-home dad. I still have enough contacts left over to get me something every now and then, and I'm really good at getting others' mistakes to work for me.

Never had a 2600k. Still rockin' my 860.

stangracin3
09-03-2011, 07:50 PM
broke college student that is good at fixing others failures like kayin

Maximous
09-03-2011, 07:59 PM
I work as a roughneck in Norway. Havent binned any cpus but have two 2600k. Bought one retail and then bought a confirmed 5570mhz cpu. Want a better one so maybe ill buy two more if the batch is promissing:)

zanzabar
09-03-2011, 08:08 PM
and what do u do that u could have $2400 worth of them (im just curious since u asked.)

i know alot of people on the forum will bench then return parts over and over again (or that used to be common):down:

badatgames18
09-03-2011, 08:13 PM
and what do u do that u could have $2400 worth of them (im just curious since u asked.)

i know alot of people on the forum will bench then return parts over and over again (or that used to be common):down:

this will sound bad but... my parents are the ones fitting the bill

but once i graduate (if i don't go straight to grad school) i'll have to pay for everything

So they binn the chip, and if it's no good, they return it for replacement?

EDIT: i should explicate... i get an allowance from my parents monthly.. instead of going out to buy tons of beer and food, i use it to get hardware and ramen noodles

CedricFP
09-03-2011, 11:11 PM