PDA

View Full Version : Time to take the plunge

Autochthon
06-08-2011, 03:48 PM
Hello aquatic aficionado's. I'm looking for some opinions

Here's what I have to start with. An old SuperMicro SC-750a server tower Here is a review with pics. http://www.frostytech.com/articleview.cfm?ArticleID=218. I have additionally drilled two 120 mm blowholes that blow air directly down onto the motherboard. With the various fans spinning it stays cool but things get loud. Time to throw some water on that noise ;)

dimensions:
25.75" high - 13" (lower) - 10.75" (middle) - 2" (upper)
17.25" deep - 16.25" case - 1" bezel
8.25" wide

I'm looking to set this up for water cooling an upcoming 2011 board/processor and sli/crossfire gpu's. I usually do mild to middlin overclocks and want quite though dead silence isn't needed.

I have a coolmaster 3 (5.25") bay to 4 (3.5") bay insert to hold hard drives. That and a a DVD leave me with 2 free external 5.25" bays and 1 external 3.25" bay to play with.

The physical space from the top of the PS to the 2 inch upper area is 5.5 inches high.

My initial though is to mount (1) 280 radiator vertically at the bottom front of the case and another 280 rad horizontally in the 2 inch space at the top.

Depending on the radiator choice, this would leave me 4 - 4.5" of the 3.5 bay and 5+ inches of the top 5.25" bay (if I mounted 3 fans to push air vertically upward).

As a loop I was thinking : top rad -> CPU -> bottom rad -> GPU's -> res -> pump -> ...

Any thoughts on where I might run into problems?
Any recommendations on suitable components?
I was thinking the Koolance 280 radiators my only concern is the fin density may want more airflow than I'd prefer.
I know nothing about pumps a MCP655 or koolance 450 would work?
reservoirs are tough I may not have enough space for a 2 bay option.