PDA

View Full Version : Where is my coolant going?

dejanh
06-06-2011, 04:49 PM
Well, I seem to have an interesting "problem" on my hands. I have been running watercooling for about 3 years now, and have set up some quite complicated systems in the meantime. I am quite meticulous and careful when setting up my loops and ensure that everything is running as expected. Lately however I have noticed that the water level on my reservoir is dropping every few weeks in my primary system, and not by a tiny amount but quite significantly (at least in my opinion). In about 2 months I drop about 25-30ml of fluid. This has so far happened about 3 times and each time I simply topped up the res and onwards I went. Before anybody asks, I have checked all of the connections and they are as dry as a bone, no leaks anywhere. The rads are solid, fittings are solid, res is solid, as are the pumps. I bled the system when filling it for the first time.

So, with that said, could it really be that I simply have that much trapped air in the system that is slowly being released over time that I could not bleed out of the system originally? I am discounting evaporation through tubing as I have been using the same type of tubing for several years now and never experienced this before, not to mention that the temperatures are nothing to fret about around here so there is no unusual "heating" of any parts of the loop.

Thoughts?

zeropluszero
06-06-2011, 04:58 PM