PDA

View Full Version : HELP - Residue at top of res near water line

mav2000
04-13-2011, 09:33 PM
Hi,

I am using an EK cylinder res for the last year or so and recently, after stopping to use Biocide and using a silver piece as an anti microbial agent I saw some residue collecting at the top near the water line in the res.

I drained the loop and tried to clean the res, but the residue would just not come off. I tried with a brush as well, but that did not work either.

The res has been clear for quite a while and this happened only in the last month.

The changes that have happened over the last month are as follows:

1. Changed water from normal Distilled to Medical Deionised water - I think this could be the main cause

2. Used a silver 5 gram piece instead of my normal biocide. The silver was polished...could this be whats causing the problem?

3. Changed tubing from clear to black masterklear tubing - could it be platisizer?

Thanks for the help guys.

mav2000
04-14-2011, 02:35 AM
Hi,

I am using an EK cylinder res for the last year or so and recently, after stopping to use Biocide and using a silver piece as an anti microbial agent I saw some residue collecting at the top near the water line in the res.

I drained the loop and tried to clean the res, but the residue would just not come off. I tried with a brush as well, but that did not work either.

The res has been clear for quite a while and this happened only in the last month.

The changes that have happened over the last month are as follows:

1. Changed water from normal Distilled to Medical Deionised water - I think this could be the main cause

2. Used a silver 5 gram piece instead of my normal biocide. The silver was polished...could this be whats causing the problem?

3. Changed tubing from clear to black masterklear tubing - could it be platisizer?

Thanks for the help guys.

EDIT:

Here are some pics to clarify what I am trying to say: