PDA

View Full Version : Some general questions from a newbie...

Palamedes
03-30-2011, 12:24 PM
Howdy all. I'm new to the whole water cooling thing and am going to be building a new system in the next coming weeks.. I posted this same set of questions over at the koolance forum, but it hasn't gotten much in the way of views and zero responses so I thought I would repost here..

One of my goals is to get a quiet PC that performs well under load, doesn't get higher than 30dB ever and remains as close to ambient temperature as possible. I have been doing my homework/research and I have a couple questions;

1. Is it more important to cool the CPU or GPU?

From my research it seems that best case should be to cool both, but that generally speaking the GPU (when both are at load) generates more heat than the CPU and as such shouldn't be ignored.. This about right? If you can't do it for one reason or another is it acceptable to only cool the CPU? Or only cool the GPU? My goal is to cool both, but I'm curious..

2. Is getting a waterblock for the northbridge of the motherboard that important?

The new motherboard I am looking at (MSI P67A-GD65) has a north bridge fan/heat sink and so all of the helper configuration tools seem to want me to get a north bridge water block too, but really do I need to? Is that one I can ignore or is it vital? I just don't know how much heat it actually generates..

3. Is there a point to Watercooling Memory?

Memory doesn't seem to get hot at all, and the meager little heat plates that are attached to most sticks of memory do a fine job.. do they need more cooling?

4. How big of a reservoir do you need?

It seems the site sells the gamut from tiny to fricken huge.. is there a formula or a general idea of how big of a res to get? Is bigger better?

5. When building a loop should you go hottest to coolest or coolest to hottest when routing through your various blocks?