PDA

View Full Version : Filling Loop, ATX Jumper



jcrouse
02-15-2011, 11:06 AM
So I read how to do this and gave it a try with just a fan hooked up, no pump. I jumpered the ATX connector as stated, plugged a 4 pin modular molex into my PS with a fan attached and plugged in the power cord. However, the power only surges for a second and then stops. I need to turn the power supply off and on to keep the fan running. Is this what will need done to fill the loop with the pump or should it run constantly using the jumper?

Thanks,
John

McDown
02-15-2011, 01:31 PM
It should be on constantly. Are you sure that you jumpered the right wires? It has to be the green one and any black wire.

jcrouse
02-15-2011, 01:44 PM
It should be on constantly. Are you sure that you jumpered the right wires? It has to be the green one and any black wire.

Thanks for the reply. It was my stupidity. I actually bought a small plug with a switch. The switch is momentary, DUH. I should RTFM :)

John

penguins
02-15-2011, 03:07 PM
momentary is the type of switch that disengages once you let go of it.
the other type is a rocker? idk lol hey we've all been there

Oooh pretty switch, hey.. why doesn't my computer stay on


Better yet, you can switch it on, then off and it will be fine. ( just like I did on my first pc ; ) )