PDA

View Full Version : What 580 would get the most global boints?



SteveRo
01-25-2011, 06:14 AM
OK so I plan to cool the 580 with chilled water and drive it with 2600k at 5.2+

There are three options I can think of w/o too much effort -

Option 1. Evga SC or Asus ENGTX or ??? with an EK block.
Some interesting data collected so far on 580 oc -
https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=t5h_vh-sJvr6dA0WzT-mttA&hl=en&authkey=CNKMlasC#gid=0

Option 2. 580 with 3GB mem - :shocked: http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/video/display/20110121151441_Gainward_Boosts_Memory_Size_of_GeFo rce_GTX_580_to_3GB_GDDR5.html
What water block should work on this? :shrug: -

Option 3. Point-of-View 580 Beast - if I can find one -
http://www.guru3d.com/news/point-of-view-geforce-gtx-580-beast/

So wadaya think? :shrug:

SteveRo
01-25-2011, 06:22 AM
Option 4. Evga Hydro - http://www.centralcomputers.com/commerce/catalog/product.jsp?product_id=78400

Linuxfan
01-25-2011, 09:38 AM
The Evga one with the waterblock already on it is cool but probably not as good price or performance as getting a normal card then a good WB...
Why get a fancy model when its not guaranteed to clock higher?

SteveRo
01-25-2011, 09:42 AM
ok so Option 1. Evga SC or Asus ENGTX or ??? with an EK block?

SteveRo
01-25-2011, 09:44 AM
Also check out this - 1k oc - but this is is only one sample - http://hothardware.com/Reviews/EVGA-GTX-580-FTW-Hydro-Copper-2-Review/?page=8

Linuxfan
01-25-2011, 09:52 AM
Also check out this - 1k oc - but this is is only one sample - http://hothardware.com/Reviews/EVGA-GTX-580-FTW-Hydro-Copper-2-Review/?page=8
Possible they are binned a little so you'll get the lower voltage cards with that Wced edition. :shrug:
Most of the time though those are overpriced and hard to find...
I'll see what Evga plain 580s can do on water here when they arrive... ;)

Don_Dan
01-25-2011, 09:52 AM
I agree with Linux, buying the VGA and the water block separately is better.

In my opinion you can probably get almost any card, stock clocks don't matter much, finding a VGA with a decent ( read: low ) stock VID is far more important.

SteveRo
01-25-2011, 10:14 AM
Are the Evga SC's binned?

G.Foyle
01-25-2011, 01:54 PM
I know this is a ittle off topic but you can probably get a GPU pot for ln2 for the price of a full cover waterblock, and the pot is reusable :)

Linuxfan
01-25-2011, 02:01 PM
I know this is a ittle off topic but you can probably get a GPU pot for ln2 for the price of a full cover waterblock, and the pot is reusable :)
Fatboy pot plus DICE instead of LN2 so you don't have to get a dewar since you're not doing LN2 'till next year anyway.... :D

trans am
01-25-2011, 02:11 PM
steve why didnt you say so? You want to borrow my tek9 slim? I havent even used it yet. Even if you dont have a dewar and I am assuming you are insulating the card you might as well go all out. get some dice and go for the kill. I am with Linuxfan on this one. dont blow your money on water vga. just try mine out to get your feet wet and comfortable with vga xtreme cooling and call vince if you decide you want to keep doing this. I kinda wish i got the wide version but I figured the slim was the most versatile.
call me.

Linuxfan
01-25-2011, 02:14 PM
steve why didnt you say so? You want to borrow my tek9 slim? I havent even used it yet. Even if you dont have a dewar and I am assuming you are insulating the card you might as well go all out. get some dice and go for the kill.
call me.
The Slim probably wouldn't hold good temps with dice.. maybe it'd be decent with a 580 but I know with a 480 it wouldn't do much...
Now we are all pushing Mr. Steve to go cold... :rofl:
Another option would be to make your cascade mount onto the GPU then you just gotta do the cold mods on the card and you're set. :D

trans am
01-25-2011, 02:18 PM
The Slim probably wouldn't hold good temps with dice.. maybe it'd be decent with a 580 but I know with a 480 it wouldn't do much...
Now we are all pushing Mr. Steve to go cold... :rofl:
Another option would be to make your cascade mount onto the GPU then you just gotta do the cold mods on the card and you're set. :D


I keep telling steve again and again to mod the evap head on his cascade to use on vga and get a gemini for his cpu.
Should I send the slim back to vince while its still unused and replace with a fat and pay the difference? Its seems like the way to go and if I decided to bench multi gpu later I could always place the fat on the bottom card and get a slim for the top card. ???

SteveRo
01-25-2011, 03:38 PM
Good evening guys,

The cascade is broken - last I checked, 2nd stage won't come on - I need to check it again. :(

What where could I buy a pot for the 580 for dice - would dice be better than chilled water. :shrug:

My chiller has gotten water down to 6-8C on low load - like 980 at idle with power saving on. :)

On SB under the chillers - at 1.6v I max load at 75C so far, idle at 25-28C.

trans am
01-25-2011, 03:55 PM
Good evening guys,

The cascade is broken - last I checked, 2nd stage won't come on - I need to check it again. :(

What where could I buy a pot for the 580 for dice - would dice be better than chilled water. :shrug:

My chiller has gotten water down to 6-8C on low load - like 980 at idle with power saving on. :)

On SB under the chillers - at 1.6v I max load at 75C so far, idle at 25-28C.

WHAT!!???
keep checking. follow the coils make sure the is no leaks or bends. touch all the compressors or wiggle gently.
when did you use it last? did you move it at all? check the power leads to each stage and see if something came unplugged and make sure your they are humming.
is the 2nd compressor vibrating or is it not even powering on?
from my experience with dice on a clarksdale cpu fully loaded at 1.7v it will give me around -50c - 70c
never tried a card and vga pot I have no idea. I warned you about cascade and they are rad when they work but eventually something like this happens and you are left with a very expensive box and frustrated.
ive been there. you want to keep things as simple as possible. a decent pot, a 25- 35l dewar and a place near you that will sell you ln2. its rad to just press a button and turn some valves and have cooling always at your disposal but 99% of the time it will eventually break and if you are not a hvac engineer and have a welding shop in your garage you end up sending it to someone and they fix it and when you get it back it is broken because a cap tube got bent in shipping and all the gas leaked out and you send it back and forth and by the time you get it back working again you couldve been breaking wr's with a simple pot and ln2.

steve see if you can get it working. go in the cascade section and ask questions. I hope u get it worked out. if I were you and you are serious about this you want to get this.
http://www.kingpincooling.com/tek-9-fat/

CryptiK
01-25-2011, 05:40 PM
Are the Evga SC's binned?

There's no evidence to suggest they are. Vanillas and SC's seem to be clocking around the same, some vanillas are better than the SC's. If they were binned, they should be consistently better but from everything I've seen they are not.

G.Foyle
01-25-2011, 10:27 PM
There's no reason to go with Tek9 slim if you have one pot only - you won't be running SLI with one pot :) I'd say go for FAT and dry ice. I never used it with DI but a similar pot (rybas FAT) holds temps pretty well with dry ice on big and hot GPUs like GT200, GF100 and similar. It should stay below -60 all the time.

SteveRo
01-26-2011, 12:52 AM
Good morning all,

Thanks for all the great help.
Sleet and snow all over the place here in Virginia today.
Great day to stay in and tweak some more 01. :)

Re the cascade - yes, the 2nd stage won't even come on.
I hear relays clicking but the compressor does not start.
Worked great with heavy use for 7 months till now.
But I will try again, fortunately it's not needed for SB. :)

Re the 580 - I'm thinking I will go with this as an initial try and then pick up a tek-9 FAT for dice for round 2? -

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814187127

Wadaya think?



WHAT!!???
keep checking. follow the coils make sure the is no leaks or bends. touch all the compressors or wiggle gently.
when did you use it last? did you move it at all? check the power leads to each stage and see if something came unplugged and make sure your they are humming.
is the 2nd compressor vibrating or is it not even powering on?
from my experience with dice on a clarksdale cpu fully loaded at 1.7v it will give me around -50c - 70c
never tried a card and vga pot I have no idea. I warned you about cascade and they are rad when they work but eventually something like this happens and you are left with a very expensive box and frustrated.
ive been there. you want to keep things as simple as possible. a decent pot, a 25- 35l dewar and a place near you that will sell you ln2. its rad to just press a button and turn some valves and have cooling always at your disposal but 99% of the time it will eventually break and if you are not a hvac engineer and have a welding shop in your garage you end up sending it to someone and they fix it and when you get it back it is broken because a cap tube got bent in shipping and all the gas leaked out and you send it back and forth and by the time you get it back working again you couldve been breaking wr's with a simple pot and ln2.

steve see if you can get it working. go in the cascade section and ask questions. I hope u get it worked out. if I were you and you are serious about this you want to get this.
http://www.kingpincooling.com/tek-9-fat/

Don_Dan
01-26-2011, 11:52 AM
Re the 580 - I'm thinking I will go with this as an initial try and then pick up a tek-9 FAT for dice for round 2? -

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814187127

Wadaya think?

Sounds great, the Sparkle GTX 580 should be fine imho.

And the Tek-9 Fat is the way to go for single card benching! :up:

Linuxfan
01-26-2011, 11:59 AM
And the Tek-9 Fat is the way to go for single card benching! :up:
Yeah no kidding. :D

Sparkle is marked up $80 for three purple fans... :shrug:

SteveRo
01-26-2011, 12:18 PM
I should be all purple and sparkley by the weekend. :rolleyes:

Hondacity
01-27-2011, 01:19 PM
you should be able to hi 1200mhz with dice..

nacho arroyo 580 without mods can do 1250 ...

trans am
01-30-2011, 12:47 AM
yeah steve the sparkles have an amazing warranty. I was checking out your pc/vantage mark submissions with the sandy on hwbot and am totally blown away by them. the sandy rig pcmark is no joke.
imagine if you me and paul went on a sandy pc mark mission together with our raid setups. man you inspire me.

SteveRo
01-30-2011, 03:37 PM
Mr. Transam - Yes SB seems to be working out very well for pcmark, I wish intel offered a SB 2 core unlocked!
Yes, both you and Paul aught to pickup SB and rerun pcmark!

Don_Dan
01-31-2011, 07:07 AM
Did you order your card yet?
If not, you should check out the ASUS GTX 580 Direct CU II! It's probably insanely expensive but imho it's the best 580 on the market.