PDA

View Full Version : Noob WC'ing question about barbs...

vulcZ
01-06-2011, 04:21 PM
So I bought a cheap radiator to throw into my loop as an extra measure (http://www.svc.com/rad-3110.html). When I got the radiator I noticed it came with some barbs. I tried to install them and it was pretty hard, but I finally got them in. However, it gets to a point where they don't go in any more, but it still doesn't look like the seal on the barb has pressed against radiator so I'm worried this will leak, despite the fact that the barbs went in very tightly as-is.

Is it okay to add some plumber's tape (the white stuff that goes on the thread and helps seal)? Is it ever a good idea to use that stuff? When I've worked with barbs and radiators in the past they've always gone in far enough to where the seal on the barb itself is what prevented leaks. This is the first time this has ever happened to me. It could just be because the radiator is crappy, I'm not sure. I'm still learning here :)

penguins
01-06-2011, 04:25 PM
Fill it with water and use tube to connect the barbs and see if it leaks

vulcZ
01-06-2011, 04:44 PM
Yeah I was going to test it when I got home, but I decided to post mainly because I was wondering about the plumber's tape. It probably isn't needed for most situations, but I'm thinking that it can serve as an extra layer of protection :) I also wasn't sure if running into this kind of problem is uncommon or not. I've WC'ed before, but not on my own setup. I used parts that were already provided for.

penguins
01-06-2011, 05:03 PM
I've never used a hwlabs rad, never had problems with barbs

Church
01-06-2011, 07:14 PM
Maybe with rads plumber tape usage is possible, but i suggest to not use that tape for acrylic reservoirs, where it's possible to break/crack them by screwing in fitting with tape on it. And even on rads .. i'd rather seek for different/thicker O-ring to make leak-less seal.

penguins
01-06-2011, 08:25 PM