PDA

View Full Version : Help choosing system :3

ASSAD101
12-04-2010, 08:13 PM
Hey guys, i was considering The Z-5500's but i'm beginning to hear bad things about them. Yes i am fairly new to audio. I have about $300-400 to spend and i was looking at this http://www.jbhifi.com.au/home-theatre/sony/800-watt-5-1-home-theatre-system-sku-24929/.
Could you guys help me choose a setup better then Z-5500's?

1ke
12-05-2010, 10:03 AM
Depends on what you want to do. Music, Movies, or Games? Also is this for Home Theater or Computer?

Serra
12-05-2010, 10:36 AM
I agree with 1ke, depends on usage. Also size of the room you want to fill. 5.1 necessary?

I think for that price range you're not likely to do a lot better than either of the systems that you listed, unless you buy used and get a deal off eBay or something. I'm sure you will hear some complaints about both systems, but if there weren't any complaints they would be much more expensive. The way I see it is that the goal for those little pre-built systems is to provide (per speaker) sound quality equal to or, preferably, at least a bit better than a regular TV speaker while introducing surround sound and a subwoofer, and both those systems should meet that requirement.

One thing to keep in mind is that with those pre-built systems if you want to upgrade you tend to have to replace everything and start from scratch. That's not always a bad thing, but if you were looking to upsize the system piece by piece it's an important thing to know.

ASSAD101
12-05-2010, 12:34 PM
I basically do a little gaming and listen to music constantly and watch a movie here and there. Yeah, it's for my pc. the room is pretty small, my desk is cramped into the corner.

Nanometer
12-05-2010, 02:10 PM