PDA

View Full Version : Which 560 rad for my build? (Diagram included, any advice welcomed)

sirsiddius
09-03-2010, 01:44 AM
Basically I'm starting uni in a couple of weeks, I've always been interested in liquid cooling. I saved enough money for a decent build (thanks in part to rocking the same socket 478 rig for over 8 years).

Anyways this is what I have planned.
http://ui12.gamespot.com/395/untitled_2.jpg

I've prowled the forums for a while now so I'm not a total noob. The only part I'm not sure about is what 560 rad to use.

I plan to buy 5 YL D14SH-12 fans. The rated specs for these things are all over the place. They range from 1800rpm to 2800 rpm from vendor to vendor, so I'm going with the worst case scenario and assume that they spin at 1800.

The 2 NZXT fans are from the case itself, they are 9 bladed and spin at 1300rpm.

Anyways there are only 3 560 rads out there AFAIK. The GTX 560, the SR1 560 and the G-changer 560. So what I'm asking is which of these rads are best suited for my build?

Also as my 1st wc project, I will appreciate any suggestions or criticisms.

The case I'm using is an NZXT tempest evo. Fitting the rad will require some slight modding, which I can preform with a dremmel in 20 minutes.

And I'm leaning towards EK blocks for both cpu and gpu because they are cheapest of high end blocks. The supreme HF offers stellar performance. And their FC GTX480 is above average, and both are low restriction, which I gather is important for a cpu gpu loop.

OK so I'll stop my blabbering now and start listening to input. Thanks again for your help.

Tackleberry
09-03-2010, 02:02 AM
I think that rad is too big for only using CPU and 1 GPU blocks.

ggdh
09-03-2010, 02:25 AM
Massive overkill. But if you plan adding two more GPUs that makes sense ;)

ChaosAD
09-03-2010, 03:31 AM