PDA

View Full Version : Need cheap hi-fi equipment

metalop1g
06-28-2010, 06:06 PM
I'm a college student and I'd love to get a a little hi-fi setup.

I just want it to be better overall than my razer megalodon and creative gigaworks t40.

http://images.europe.creative.com/images/products/large/16936_1.png
and
http://www.razer.or.kr/zbxe/freeboard/files/attach/images/51/663/012/razer_megalodon.jpg.

Both are plugged into default outputs on my asus p6t6 ws revolution. Really, I'd love to just have a receiver and reputable headphones. A sound card might cost me a little more than I'm willing to spend.

I might be able to put 200$ max. the rest of my paycheck will be for my driver license.

The biggest drawback I see in having a receiver is heat. In my room it's like 28 degrees celcius at the moment... I'd love my equipment not to waste electricity because for me it just means not being able to sleep because it's too hot.

hdmi is not a necessity. in fact, an older receiver that has a great reputation would be nice, since it would probably cost less.:up:

I'm just a little scared of dead standards, even if it sounds really great.

Cables will come from monoprice

I can answer any question:up:

ben333
06-28-2010, 06:12 PM
Cables will come from monoprice

I don't know much about monoprice, but I think I've heard they're a good place to buy cables because of the low price? I think for a small hifi, you might want to spend some extra dough on the small amount of cables you need. Correct me if wrong though.

metalop1g
06-28-2010, 06:25 PM
I don't know much about monoprice, but I think I've heard they're a good place to buy cables because of the low price? I think for a small hifi, you might want to spend some extra dough on the small amount of cables you need. Correct me if wrong though.