PDA

View Full Version : 'gravel' sound in loop, help

roller11
06-09-2010, 11:39 AM
I'm brand new to WC, so I'm benching my loop and I get this 'gravel' sound, like sand in ball bearings. I'm pretty sure it's air bubbles going into the pump, I can see teeny tiny bubbles in my res, but no bubbles in the clear hose connecting res to pump inlet. I'm benching a hydor seltz 30 pump, same thing happened with the MCP655 pump. There's no way I'll put up with this noise, so unless I can eliminate it, I'm back to air cooling. I really don't want to send WC parts back for a refund, but that's what I'm looking at right now.

I've been letting the loop run for two hours now, still get the noise and no leaks. Is this noise something that can only be minimized but not eliminated? Is this as quiet as it gets?
res= thermaltake cylinder w/alum base,
rad = standard thermaltake 240.

jumper2high
06-09-2010, 11:58 AM
Could be a small air pocket trapped in the pump housing itself. Try tilting the case (while the PC isn't running) to one side or another to let the air pocket pass through.

KILLER_K
06-09-2010, 12:02 PM
Yea tilt and shake and tap on the rad helps to get the bubbles and air pockets out. And i have squeezed the tubing and then let it go to surge to knock the air pockets a loose also.

NKrader
06-09-2010, 12:10 PM
also when there is very little air in my loop i cant see it. as the little bubbles are moving so fast that i cant see em.. usually takes bout 24hours to bleed those out.

MegadetHCl
06-09-2010, 12:10 PM
The sound may also be air escaping from the radiator, which has a lot of places where air pockets could form. Like two posters above have suggested, tilt the case from side to side, being careful to watch the level of water going into the pump's intake. If your reservoir is located above your pump, the air bubbles should be sufficiently purged from the loop in several minutes to significantly diminish the "gravel" sound.

Sadasius
06-09-2010, 01:11 PM