PDA

View Full Version : Two Loops, One Reservoir



Gwiggles
04-19-2010, 02:17 PM
I'm not quite sure if this is still considered two loops, but I drew a picture to explain. Will something like this work?

I really want to use the EK BaySpin, but I'm under the impression I would need two completely separate loops for something like this. I know I could use the XSPC BayRes two for two separate loops, but I like the look of the EK Bayres better.

Kenjiwing
04-19-2010, 02:21 PM
Im not a master of two loops but wouldnt the water all run to the same pool and end up warming up both loops in turn?

urgrandpasdog
04-19-2010, 02:31 PM
It would work, but I recommend separating the pumps and driving one loop with each, rather than splitting it like that.

kinghong1970
04-19-2010, 02:46 PM
separate the loops, Tline the CPU and use the RES on the GPU...

btw, are you splitting the output of the pump to both CPU and GPU?

Gwiggles
04-19-2010, 02:55 PM
I was originally just going to do two completely separate loops with this XSPC BayRes two (http://xspc.biz/ddcdualbayrestwo.php). But, I decided that I liked the look of the EK Bayspin Res better... But, I'll probably just separate the two loops with the XSPC Res.

Question (Excuse my 'newbieness') - I'm using the Banchetto 101 (http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/miba101clmoc.html) open-air case. The 5.25" Bays are below the motherboard, ect, and that's where the Res will be. How do I drain something like this if the res is the lowest point in the loop? I guess I should start with, how does anyone drain a loop without a T-line? I MUST be missing something very obvious :b

Bodkin
04-19-2010, 02:59 PM
Hmm, sounds like an intersting setup with the bench table, and chance of a few pics?

Gwiggles
04-19-2010, 03:03 PM
There are some Pre-WC pics in this thread (http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=637203). But, since then I've changed parts around. Instead of what's seen on the bench, I'll be using two E6 5870s, and a R3E.

urgrandpasdog
04-19-2010, 04:36 PM
I was originally just going to do two completely separate loops with this XSPC BayRes two (http://xspc.biz/ddcdualbayrestwo.php). But, I decided that I liked the look of the EK Bayspin Res better... But, I'll probably just separate the two loops with the XSPC Res.

Question (Excuse my 'newbieness') - I'm using the Banchetto 101 (http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/miba101clmoc.html) open-air case. The 5.25" Bays are below the motherboard, ect, and that's where the Res will be. How do I drain something like this if the res is the lowest point in the loop? I guess I should start with, how does anyone drain a loop without a T-line? I MUST be missing something very obvious :b

Go with the XSPC.

As for the draining issue, if you leave some extra tubing down there, you should be able to unscrew the res and pull it out far enough that you can disconnect a line with a small bucket or something under it.

What I do is put a t-line at the lowest point (in addition to my res at the top) and have a couple feet of tubing on that that I leave coiled up until I need to drain it. Then, I just bring it up to the sink, uncoil the t-line over it and unscrew the plug.

Gwiggles
04-19-2010, 04:56 PM
Yeah, I think that's what I'm going to do. Between the Res/Pump and the Rad I'll fit a T-line in there. This re-build log (http://www.overclockers.com/annual-water-cooling-cleaning-rebuild-journal/) shows my case with two 120.3 Rads, but he's using two XSPC Res-tops instead of the BayRes. Though, he does the same thing I'm contemplating with T-lines.

xslix
04-20-2010, 09:22 AM
should work i got my y splitter after the pump n y'ed back together to same line to 3 rads back to res

sniperbob
04-20-2010, 10:00 AM
I'm currently using the XSPC dual ddc bay res and in my experience it has worked beautifully for two loops.

Gwiggles
04-20-2010, 12:20 PM
I'm currently using the XSPC dual ddc bay res and in my experience it has worked beautifully for two loops.

Thanks heaps for this confirmation. I haven't seen a review for it anywhere and I've been hard-pressed to find someone who has one.

Sneaky
04-20-2010, 05:37 PM
Running two loops into a single reservoir pretty much negates the purpose of having two loops in the first place IMO