PDA

View Full Version : Changing the cross over frequency!

Nanometer
04-01-2010, 05:09 PM
I am tring to alter an audio cross over frequency so that my speaker towers send more of the frequency spectrum to the larger speakers in the tower. It's a 3 way split and I was wondering how to raise the low pass frequency. Any tips?

it's changing one of the low pass circut values. either a resistor, capacitor or coil

jason str
04-03-2010, 11:04 AM
Im no crossover expert but i know you will need to make a change to both drivers if you want to raise or lower the crossovers frequency so you dont have a big overlapping of frequencies.

Maybe you can use an active crossover for starters to see if your plan will work or not.

STEvil
04-03-2010, 10:15 PM
take a few wraps off the coil.

I would suggest using some store-bought crossovers if you want to play with it though before unwinding the "good" ones.. or do that to the stock ones and buy new ones for backup ;)

OldChap
04-04-2010, 01:41 AM
Can you draw out the circuit for the crossover that you have, give it values and post? If not then it will be tough to know where to start.

Nanometer
04-17-2010, 11:57 PM
I'm still on the hunt, and the only thing I could really get was do my best to draw out the diagram, I would rather take it completely out of the system, but I really dont want to desolder anything... Personally I wish I had access to an eager electrical engineer in their third year... or a master haha

STEvil
04-18-2010, 12:17 AM
You can use a jumper wire to bypass it if you dont want to solder on it much.

Nanometer
04-18-2010, 12:28 AM
well I wanted to take it out in order to figure out the diagram, but it seems there are no traces on the board so that's not really going to work either... It would be nice to get an adjustable crossover setup, but I haven't really seen any for my application, I'll try to look around for it. An active crossover seems to be my best bet...