PDA

View Full Version : Water cool newb - did I mess this up?

Wryknow
03-25-2010, 12:24 PM
So I am new to the water cooling scene and just finished my first build after a lot of lurking and reading on the forums for a couple of months. (Thanks to everyone who posts here regularly - it is appreciated more than you know.)

I have installed all of my drivers and have done a mild over clock on my I7 930 to 3.8 ghz at 1.3v. Everything is very stable on Prime 95 max stress with 8 threads but I am concerned about my temperatures - at max I am running a CPU temp of 57c according to my ASUS utility and that seems to be a lot higher than I was expecting it to be with the set up that I have put together. Board temperature was 29c. Did I mess something up or are my expectations wrong?

I did have a bit of a problem with the Indigo Xtreme installation. The XT required a bit of movement to get it to aligne with the back bracket and I am afraid that I may have moved the Indigo pad around a bit. When I did the burn in it never reached 90c like the instructions said - it went to 84C, dropped to about 78C and then levelled at 84C again. I ran it at 84C for about 5 minutes before turning on the pump and the temp dropped very quickly down to 57c and stayed there.

Basics
Corsair 800D case
ASUS P6X58D mobo
Intel I7 930
6G Corsair 1600 (8-8-8-24) 1.65v memory
EVGA GTX 275 (waiting for FERMI to decide what to upgrade to)
ASUS Sonar Essence sound card

Cooling
Swiftech Apogee XT CPU block
(Indigo Xtreme thermal compound)
Black Ice GTX 360 radiator
Laing D5 pump
Bitspower 250ml reservoir
1st PC Corp Hummer fan controller
3 x 120mm Scythe UltraKaze 3K fans (pull – blowing out through top of case)
2 x 140mm Yate-Loon high speed (blowing into the case)

Thanks in advance for your help!

NaeKuh
03-25-2010, 12:52 PM
im assuming your radiator is mounted up top with barbs pointed down?