PDA

View Full Version : LC Noob Here!

Nigel
03-16-2010, 08:29 AM
Hey, total liquid cooling noob here so forgive me. I’m looking to begin a LC or possibly chilled liquid setup. I don’t believe in budgets they only hinder results so what it costs is what it costs and feel free to go wild with suggestions.

My current setup is in my sig and I’ve come up with a basic list of components that I’d like to see in my build (unless better ones exist). I wanted to use is EK Nickel Acetal 5970 full cover blocks for the GPU’s, a full board block for the mobo (if possible) and an EK Supreme HF for the CPU. I was hoping to use one or two Iwaki RD-30 pumps depending upon how much flow I’ll need. My idea for radiators is to have a GTX 360 in the top of the case and a separate radiator box with 2 9x120 radiators and another GTX 360 with a big reservoir.

Temps wise I’d like to not see any more than 40C in the loop and I will add components where necessary to make this happen, my only need is that my system stay inside of the 800D.

Thanks!

Nigel

millertime359
03-16-2010, 08:40 AM
Let me get this clear. You don't mind having a seperate watercooled box. The 800D is a great case, but I really doubt it will hold any of the stuff you want it to hold.

A seperate case for your watercooling gear is best anyways. It allows you to get the best airflow you can and not have to worry about any heat dump from the components in your comp.

I like where you are going here though. I'm not certain if you need 2 RD-30s, I think 1 should be fine. You also might be over doing it with the rads. I think a couple of 480s would be plenty.

The size of the res doesn't matter. It's mostly there to aid in bleeding the loop.

Nigel
03-16-2010, 09:55 AM
All I need it to hold is one rad and my motherboard which is why the separate case will be necessary. Will two 480's allow me to hit my desired load temps?

millertime359
03-16-2010, 10:03 AM
I'm not positive. I hope some other vets will get in here.