PDA

View Full Version : Athlon II x4 620 OC problem

Player1
03-13-2010, 02:07 AM
Hi there
This is my first post here and I am new to OC so forgive me any stupid questions I might be asking.
My rig:
cpu: Athlon II x4 620 cooled by Noctua NH-U12P
Mother board: DFI Lan Party DK 790fx with the latest bios from the DFI website
RAM: DDR2 800 MHz 2x1 GB OCZ Reaper 3-4-4-15 @ 2.4 V
PSU: Pentagram Silent Force 620 W (a mid-range PSU quite popular in some parts of Europe, no so popular in others, should be more than enough)
GTX 260
2 x HDD
5 x 120 mm fan
All packed into a Cooler Master 690 Dominator case
So I can't push my cpu beyond 3354MHz even though I've set memory timings to 5-5-5-15 and lowered the memory divider to be sure there is headroom for OC. I've lowered HT frequency not to exceed the stock HT link value too much and the NB frequency is kept low as well (slightly above 2 GHz). I've disabled Cool and Quiet and Spread Spectrum. Increasing cpu voltage does not seem to be helping, since I tried to go as far as 1,57 V and the rig would not boot with bus speed above 260, which surely is not the limit for the mother board (i guess). I've run out of ideas. It is stable @ 3,3GHz @ 1,44V but it won't go further. Please advise.

BeepBeep2
03-13-2010, 09:22 PM
Hi there
This is my first post here and I am new to OC so forgive me any stupid questions I might be asking.
My rig:
cpu: Athlon II x4 620 cooled by Noctua NH-U12P
Mother board: DFI Lan Party DK 790fx with the latest bios from the DFI website
RAM: DDR2 800 MHz 2x1 GB OCZ Reaper 3-4-4-15 @ 2.4 V
PSU: Pentagram Silent Force 620 W (a mid-range PSU quite popular in some parts of Europe, no so popular in others, should be more than enough)
GTX 260
2 x HDD
5 x 120 mm fan
All packed into a Cooler Master 690 Dominator case