PDA

View Full Version : New to WaterCooling, newbie questions!

fggs
01-04-2010, 09:48 AM
Hello everybody!

Like the title says I'm new to watercooling and propably my questions has been covered already but just want to be sure. First a little history, I have a really old rig (Socket 462) and I decided to build a phase change system, but couldn't finished it, then decided to try watercooling. I have XSPC Delta V3 block with 1/2 tubes, Swiftech MCP655-B pump and Swiftech MCW30 for chipset. I'm using silicon hoses. Now the questions:

1) The loop is mounted with fluid but not on motherboard, never used, do I need to dissassembly everything and clean it?
2) Do I need to use some special thermal paste to install it or AS5 should be fine?

That's it for now! Thanks!

irenedakota
01-04-2010, 09:52 AM
1) How long has it been sitting with fluid in it?

2) AS5 will work fine, afaik.

fggs
01-04-2010, 10:09 AM
Wow! That was fast! Thanks for your response irenedakota.

1) I think about an year *shamed*

2) Thanks!

I'm trying to get lower temps without being unsafe, to go higher with my overclock. I think watercooler is safest than chiller and phase-change for a rookie.

Dude_Person
01-04-2010, 11:27 AM
What kind of fluid was inside?

fggs
01-04-2010, 11:37 AM
Glicol (car radiator) diluted with distilled water.

Dude_Person
01-04-2010, 12:16 PM
Unless the alcohol has eaten away at the tubing I don't think it should need cleaning. This has happened before though.

fggs
01-04-2010, 12:54 PM
I think not because there is no licking.

fggs
01-04-2010, 05:24 PM
As english is not my native language and I'm also new to watercooler, can you explain me what "silver coil" is?

Thanks in advance!

irenedakota
01-04-2010, 09:18 PM
It is a coil of pure (99%) silver :) It kills pretty much anything that could grow in your loop.

jellyrole
01-04-2010, 09:29 PM
This is the coil:

http://www.petrastechshop.com/sikibyia.html

fggs
01-04-2010, 09:58 PM