PDA

View Full Version : Looking at watercooling

irenedakota
12-14-2009, 04:56 AM
I am looking at water cooling my rather hot computer.

My hardware that I want to watercool:
* AMD Phenom II x4 940BE
* ATI HD5850

My CPU easily hits 60C at load (Stock speeds - summer) - I have a Cool-it Domino ALC cooler ATM (Stock cooler ran hotter)
I'm still waiting for my HD5850, but my current HD3850 hits 95C at load (Stock speeds).

I have a Coolermaster HAF922 case.

What do the experts think about the following gear?
* Swiftech H20-220 Apex Ultima kit (Apogee GTZ, MCR220 radiator, MCP655-B pump, MCRES-Micro Revision 2 reservoir)
* Swiftech Komodo 5800
* Swiftech MCR120 Rad
* PrimoFlex Pro LRT tubing
* Bitspower compression fittings

My planned loop will be:
Res -> Pump -> 2x120mm Rad -> Cpu -> 1x120mm Rad -> GPU -> Res

Any thoughts, comments and suggestions are welcome.

Jamesrt2004
12-14-2009, 05:36 AM
cant you fit a tripple and a dual in that case, i'd do that, and that water block tbh is pretty old tech now, but the main question is...

how much money do you have to spend, and what are YOUR "ideal" temps for them both?

irenedakota
12-14-2009, 06:11 AM
Budget is about USD 550 (Plus about USD 120 for shipping - from perfomance-pcs.com).

Works out $6 cheaper to get a Apogee XT (plus all the other bits from the kit separate)

I don't know about the GPU because I don't actually have it yet. But the CPU I'd be happy to be in the low to mid 50s @ 3.6 - 3.8Ghz.

Can't fit a triple in the case without modding unfortunately. Any form of case modifications are out of the question, and I want everything to be internal.

It has a mount for a double and two 120mm fan mounts (Back and on the bottom). I could get a second single if that will help.

Conumdrum
12-14-2009, 06:21 AM