PDA

View Full Version : Graphic design monitor? Performs like iMAC?

k2krafty1
11-21-2009, 05:04 PM
Hi- I need a new monitor, my MAG just isn't up to the task anymore. I am a photo/graffix editor and need something that is vivid, glossy and great in color representation. I work on iMACs sometimes and love the way they look/work. If someone could refer me to a monitor that performs like the iMACs do that would be great.

Machinus
11-21-2009, 06:28 PM
any calibrated IPS

AndrewZorn
11-21-2009, 08:02 PM
glossy AND great in color representation?

isnt that a contradiction

k2krafty1
11-22-2009, 12:12 AM
Machinus can you go into detail what IPS calibration entails? Not familiar with this.

"glossy AND great in color representation?"

Haha- well I will be working in a room with no windows, and soft flouros so I will not have to deal with glare. The iMACs seem to be glossy, and the way pictures look on those monitors is stunning they look somewhat correct comparing them to the print out. But I guess monitor - printer calibration is another topic lol. J/C- you don't like glossy?

Thanks guys. I am on a $450 budget

zanzabar
11-22-2009, 12:18 AM
an uncalibrated ips pannel is about $425 so i dont think that your going to work well, nec has good panels for graphic design just make sure that the vewing angle is 170 degrees or better and it says IPS

Machinus
11-22-2009, 04:08 AM
mac panels are ok but they are not the best quality you can get. buy a newer IPS version panel from a company with product support. if you want the best color and images you will have to buy a calibrator and use that on your monitor as well. that will be better than any mac display

AndrewZorn
11-22-2009, 09:16 AM
i thought that the glossy finish is what makes the colors 'pop' (and also makes them unrealistically vibrant)

isp
11-22-2009, 10:49 AM